Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Best the enemy of the good. You don't have to break something that already works great
     
  2. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    To show how fussy I am if I could just have it in dark, I would be happy.
     
  3. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    Yes you can keep the old technology and refuse to improve, but customers have other better choices.
     
  4. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,288
    well, @TheRollbackFrog asked for our opinions. that's why we offered our suggestions.

     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,477
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I believe your wish will be their command in v8...
     
  6. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,288
    jpg.jpg
     
  7. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    I can see value in having the OPTION for another compression level that achieves a higher compression ratio even if it is more CPU-intensive to read and write, especially if an off-the-shelf algorithm can simply be dropped in. Seems like it might be relatively little development effort. But lighter compression does tend to improve read performance, and I can see that being more of a priority than file size for many users, since read performance comes into play when mounting backups for browsing and certainly when using viBoot, while storage is relatively cheap. But that’s of course why there are options.
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,757
    Location:
    USA
    I hope that is the case. I am waiting rather impatiently to see the final product. :D
     
  9. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    I know. :)
     
  10. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
  11. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    458
    For me, maybe a backup scheme like this:

    Great great grandfather - full
    Great grandfather - diff
    Grandfather - incr
    Father - diff
    Son - incr

    Or the ability to exclude files from image backups (over and above the vss option).
     
  12. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    946
    Location:
    Canada
    Seems complicated to me. I do an incremental once a month.:)
     
  13. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Automatically adding a suffix to differential and incremental copies will greatly facilitate their visual identification in Windows Explorer, like this
    asd.png
    In v8 beta the button "Hide\Show folders" will increase the working area and get rid of horizontal scrolling
    kla.png
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2021
  14. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,446
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I agree. I also like new backup naming options that will be available in v. 8. For me, that's the best new feature.
     
  15. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    Just out of curiosity, what is your use case for a five-tiered backup strategy?
     
  16. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Lunar module
    When booting from WinPE, integrated into the boot menu or created on a USB flash drive from the Macrium menu, after loading the BIOS, a blank black screen with no signs of life hangs for 10 seconds. The system seems to be frozen and not loading. Then such a screen appears and now you can see that the download continues. It would be useful if during the period of the "black screen" some progress indicator was displayed, even such an elementary one in the upper left corner
    11.png 12.png

    Regardless of Macrium version / edition, after loading in WinPE the taskbar buttons peexplorer, screenshooter, power sometimes work with a single click, sometimes with a double click without any regularity.
     
  17. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    The boot load screen is controlled by WinPE and the system firmware (UEFI boot shows the system vendor logo, BIOS shows the Microsoft logo.) Not sure what’s going on with your taskbar buttons unless maybe you’re waiting for the tooltip text to appear? In that case, I believe the first click dismisses the tooltip text and the second launches the application.
     
  18. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Lunar module
    http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v8/v8.0.5838/details8.0.5838.htm
    Judging by the fact that only two or three bugs are fixed from version to version, it seems that very soon the release

    Checked, exactly, it is. Thank, one less riddle
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2021
  19. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,757
    Location:
    USA
  20. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,477
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Build #5838 is not a general release to the Beta Testing Group... it may be something specific for an additional problem with Site Mgmt or elsewhere in the specific product range.
     
  21. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    sweden
    Hi

    Any v.8 Beta tester in the thread that can say something about the speed in imaging and restoring. Is it faster so far in v.8?
     
  22. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    Haven’t noticed a difference, but nothing listed on the KB page for V8 indicates changes there, so that’s not too surprising.
     
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,477
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    JP's observation is correct... BUT, if you don't currently use RDR during image restoration (introduced in v6, DEFAULT currently), you should... it's quite fast.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2021
  24. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Lunar module
  25. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    sweden
    RDR is one of the reasons i bought MR. I was just hoping it would get even faster

    It could easily if they gave the user a possibility to inactivate these boxes one has to tick during a certain way to restore. For an experienced user they are redundant. It would make it something about 20 sec or more faster and a looot... smoother.

    I have posted that suggestion on the v.8 site.
    You do it to - :p
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.