Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,397
    Thank you jphughan.
    First: I could/should have used other wording. I admit that I did let my frustration take over.

    I have now installed version 7.2.4228 and the "licence" has expired.
    Let's say I don't buy a new "licence". What will then happen when (let's say) 7.2.5000 or 7.3.0000 will be published? Can I use such a new version (without being the free version)?
    Do I only have to buy a new "licence" when (let's say) version 8.0.0000 will be published?

    PS: I want to have the possibility to make both (1) the rescue environment (boot menu) and (2) the rescue CD. Am I right that only the paid Home Edition let you do that and not the free one?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,021
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    @FanJ - your license is for a MAJOR VERSION (v7 Home)... all v7 releases are available to your license. It will remain that way until v8 is released. When that occurs, existing v7 Home license holders are usually offered a reduced upgrade fee should you wish to do so, if done within a certain time period of time (that's what happened with v6 users when v7 was released).

    Reflct FREE does allow the creation of Rescue Media, albeit with the same restrictions as Reflect FREE itself.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2019
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,397


    Thank you Froggie!

    I don't fully understand this; so sorry!
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,021
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    @FanJ - The FREE edition has product restrictions (see HERE) such as NO INCREMENTALS and NO DISSIMILAR HARDWARE RESTORATIONS... those same restrictions will appear in the Rescue Media produced by Reflect FREE.
     
  5. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    271
    Location:
    US
    For the Home version, the license only applies to your entitlement to support from Macrium through support tickets you might file with them. You have a perpetual license for Reflect V7 itself, which means that a) you will get all V7 updates that Macrium releases, with all paid features available, and b) even after Macrium themselves end all official support for V7, which would normally be a year after they release V8, the software itself will keep working, i.e. it won't just "expire" on your system. Of course if later on you upgrade to some new version of Windows that Reflect V7 doesn't work with and Macrium decides they don't want to update V7 after its support period to resolve that, then you're stuck, but that's because you updated Windows, not because Macrium disabled Reflect on you. That said, Macrium just issued an update to V6 to resolve a compatibility issue with Windows 10 1903 over a year after V6's official "end of support" date, so they seem to want to keep their customers happy, even those who haven't purchased a V7 upgrade more than 2 years after it became available.

    All versions of Reflect, even Free, let you create as many types of Rescue environments as you want. So you can have any combination of the boot menu recovery option, disc-based Rescue Media, and USB Rescue Media. However, the capabilities of the Rescue environment will vary based on the version that created it. Building on TheRollbackFrog's comments along those lines, the Free version's Rescue environment doesn't support things like Incrementals, backup encryption, Rapid Delta Restore/Clone (killer feature), ReDeploy, and some others. And the non-Server paid versions don't allow ReDeploy to be performed on Windows Server installations, for example.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2019
  6. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,155
    I have no problem with the Registry, Frog. I do it all the time. I missed Brian's link.
    Thanks.

    I see that Reflect includes more.
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\BackupRestore\FilesNotToSnapshotMacriumImage
     
  7. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,021
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    That key only shows Macrium adding the System Restore points on this particular Windows 10 System.
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,155
    I thought it was excluding them.
     
  9. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,021
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ...adding to the key for exclusion purposes, sorry :)
     
  10. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,397
    Thanks both @jphughan and @TheRollbackFrog for the info about licence, free vs paid, and all the other additional info. Much appreciated! Yes, I do use some of the extra features of the paid Home Edition.
    Thanks again :thumb:
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,155
    I removed the System Restore exclusion from Macrium Reflect. I just don't see the point in excluding a first go to option when needed. Storage is cheap.

    I made a couple of Regfiles to easily disable or enable it.
     
  12. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\BackupRestore\FilesNotToSnapshotMacriumImage
    Deleting this key will allow you to include the System Restore Points in the image of the Macrium Reflect created from under Windows (not from MR WinPE, it works there by default)? Do I understand correctly?
     
  13. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    298
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    I'm guessing that will significantly increase the image size, but It's up to y'all.
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,243
    I am not sure I see the point of System Restore, especially is you are using full macrium paid. I have turn off system restore, as I consider it almost useless. I run Macrium incrementals every hour, so they take about 50 seconds to run and not much more for a restore.
     
  15. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    I don't use the System Restore Points, I just want to know.
     
  16. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,021
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I wouldn't delete the whole key, just the entry under the key that relates to the restore points. That way if Reflect ever looks for that key to determine if things are up'n'up, it will be happy.

    I also DO NOT use System Restore, I just issue a MANUAL Incremental snapshot if I'm testing anything special... kinda like Rollback without all the possible System damage.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
  17. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    Ok, Thank!
    ScreenShot_162.png
     
  18. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    298
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    Yup, I concur, SR is off here too, and with macrium incrementals I do not need them, a macrium restore is actually quicker than system restore and more reliable.
     
  19. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    If you have Windows 10, Maсrium Reflect and Shadow Defender. After installing Windows Updates, the computer began to exit from Shadow mode for a very long time. To solve this problem, you need to remove the MR WinPE integration from the boot menu and integrate again.
    Most likely, this applies to other operating systems.
     
  20. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,155
  21. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,155
    This is a strange one.

    I did a scheduled differential backup yesterday, and the Notification area showed that it successfully started and finished.
    The log tab in Reflect also showed that it completed successfully.

    But the Scheduled Backups tab for last result displayed "Failed".
    I should have noted down the error, but I didn't. I deleted the differential file and run it again to be sure.
    All these little niggling issues lately. Just something else I will have to keep an eye on now.


    I know I keep saying it, but I had 0 problems with version 6.
     
  22. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,417
    Location:
    USA
    Should my software firewall continue to work while MR is doing a backup/restore?
     
  23. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    894
    Location:
    Southern California
    Never hurt my backups and I have 5 computers and do backups on all of them almost every day.
     
  24. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,417
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks jadinolf. Was hoping for something more definitive.
     
  25. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    For security reasons, your firewall should continue to work. My firewall and HIPS continue to work.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.