Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    If you plan to install Linux and multi-boot with both OSes, you'll avoid confusion if you either install each on it's own drive with its own boot manager or else install Linux last and let Grub2 handle both. Getting the windows boot configuration data (BCD) store menu to handle both isn't entirely impossible, but it's a major PITA.

    __
    P.S.: Except for mounting images, Reflect can handle ext4 partition backups with its "intelligent copy" process and can restore them BTW, but there is no native Linux version nor Linux rescue media option any longer. It was dropped with the Reflect v5 to v6 format change.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2017
  2. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,953
    Thank you for the reply!
     
  3. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,701
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    That may be true using BCDedit but it's very easy using "EasyBCD v2.x" (which has been my BCD tool of choice since the beginning of messing with the BCD). I recently installed Linux MINT to some unallocated space following my Windows ACTIVE partition, BOOTed back into Windows and using "EasyBCD" just added that newly installed Linux System partition as a BOOT option in my WIndows BOOT menu (BCD)... basically a piece of cake and very simple.

    I know BCDedit can be a bear at times but "EasyBCD" is very simple to use with many options.

    The bigger PITA was getting rid of the MINT BOOT menu when I selected it for BOOTing :D
     
  4. WinterKnight

    WinterKnight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    I’ve patched Reflect a few times since I ran the full installer and never had any trouble updating my rescue media to the latest version. If I see the current version number (v7.1.2722) at the top of the Reflect application when I boot from the flash drive does that mean my rescue media is fully updated, or does the older WAIKFiles affect something else that I don’t see?
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,888
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks Arvy. I don't want to get this thread off topic but I originally picked that little second hand laptop up with the intention of installing and learning Linux but I just can't commit to it. No plans to dual boot.

    The fresh install of Win10 1709 is running OK for now so I'll leave it be.

    Cheers.
     
  6. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    That EasyBCD trick only works if the Linux OS is installed in a partition on the same physical drive as Windows. Besides, I consider any need for BCD fiddling a PITA compared with Grub2's automatic pickup of all bootable installations of either OS on any drive. And yes, I am very lazy, but I prefer to think of it as efficiency. :argh:
     
  7. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    Seeing v7.1.2722 at the top of the Reflect application when it's running in the regular Windows working environment does not necessarily mean anything at all about the actual current state of your rescue media. If it doesn't show the same running Reflect when actually booted to the WinPE rescue environment, then your rescue media has not been "fully updated" to the latest version despite anything that Reflect's "wizard" may have led you to believe. It depends entirely on the version of the WAIKFiles package executable that has been installed and, as previously mentioned, recent "Check for updates" patch processes have not updated that package file consistently in all cases.

    __
    P.S.: Just as a general comment, it really is very important to actually test rescue media to ensure that it boots the system properly and that it provides all required access to all drive and network locations that may be used as either a backup image source or a recovery destination. Discovering a deficiency when the rescue media is really needed is no fun at all. :'(
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2017
  8. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    Understood, and probably a wise decision. I'm still very much at the "experimental" stage with Linux myself ... with a lot of very generous help from Froggie and others I should definitely acknowledge. Anyhow, as you say, it's back to the proper topic here.
     
  9. WinterKnight

    WinterKnight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    The versions of the Reflect application in the WinPE environment and the regular Windows environment are the same. I see v7.1.2722 at the top of the Reflect application when I run it in Windows or boot from the rescue flash drive. I recall that when I ran the Create Rescue Media Wizard it found an update for v7.1.2722. Perhaps that's why the versions in both environments are the same.

    Edit: I formatted my flash drive before I ran the Create Rescue Media Wizard. I’m not sure if that makes a difference.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2017
  10. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    And you must also have run the full installer to get that result. Either that or Macrium has "slipstreamed" a fix into their "Check for updates" patching to bring the WAIKFiles package version into "sync" with the main application version. In any case, the answer to the question that you asked above is yes, your WinPE rescue media build is now updated to v7.1.2722.
     
  11. WinterKnight

    WinterKnight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Arvy.
     
  12. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    852
    I just got upgraded to Win 10 1709. Should I rebuild my winPE? I am still on Reflect 2646 and was going to go to 2722.
     
  13. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    If your rescue media is currently built using WinPE 10 version 1607 as its boot.wim base, that has not changed. Regardless of what updated version of the Windows 10 OS you may have installed, Macrium Reflect does not yet download or use any later PE 10 version, neither 1703 nor 1709.

    Deciding whether to update your installed version of Reflect and its own WAIKFiles components that are to be included in your WinPE rescue media build, on the other hand, is entirely up to you. Reflect v7.1 bug fixes to date are posted here.
     
  14. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    852
    Great RV. I will update and create a new Rescue DVD but without getting new WinPE.
     
  15. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    That's fine. If you want to be certain of getting the Reflect v7.1.2722 WAIKFiles components, it's best to download and run the full installer for that Reflect version before running its rescue media "wizard" rebuild operation. As explained above, just using Reflect's "Check for updates" patching process may not fully accomplish what you want.
     
  16. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    Location:
    .
    Um, do I need 'Rescue.iso' Rescue iso.png
     
  17. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    950
    Macrium on Win10 Fall Creators Update does not clear Notification after finishing Backup. It worked fine before the Win 10 update.

    I have to Clear Notification after each backup. How do you stop this?
     
  18. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    One can only suppose that you must have created it yourself during some rescue media "wizard" operation on November 27th. Otherwise, it wouldn't just show up under your "users\<username>\AppData\Local\Temp" folder completely without cause or purpose. If you had some reason for choosing the option to "Create ISO image file" (see step 5 in this KB article) you must know why you did that and whether you still need it there.
     
  19. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    Other than disabling Reflect notifications completely, I don't think you can stop it from happening that way at this point in Macrium's struggle to keep pace with Microsoft's ever-changing implementation of the Windows 10 notifications process. See this KB article.
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    Location:
    .
    Hmm, I updated my usb and dvd rescue media so I'd have matching numbers.
    Hmm, since I didn't know iso would go there. I don't know whether I still need it there.
    And don't know why iso doesn't clear with clearing temp files.
     
  21. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    Like any other .ISO file, it's for burning to optical media using either the "built-in" capability of the OS or any other burner utility of your choice. It provides an alternative to creating optical media with Reflect's own "PrimoBurner" component. Reflect has no way of knowing when you will finish that separate external operation, but if you have already done so, then you need no longer retain the .ISO file for that purpose.
     
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    Location:
    .
    Aha, okay so that helps me understand why CCleaner nor Glary nor DiskCleanup cleans. ISO is waiting for me.
    I updated existing media, afaik. I must of unknowing clicked some option while updating my rescue media.
    1981.png
    I didn't think of right clicking.
    I was just trying to clean thru tool. Now, I see trying to clean thru Delete, reports. 1982.png
    Edit: I'm 95% sure I saw 7.1.2722 PE10 [UEFI] when I tested rescue media after update.
    Maybe, I erroneously called "update" a second time and did not realize ISO was waiting for Burn.
    Or, maybe I borked first time.
    1987.png
    @Arvy Thanks for holding my hand.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2017
  23. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    You're welcome.

    Not specific to your issue in particular, but the "built-in" capabilities of recent Windows versions to burn (Win7+) and to mount (Win8+) .ISO files can be extremely useful in general. In fact, having mounted an .ISO file as a virtual drive, one can then run its setup executable in order to update software installations, including Windows itself. Some further details here if interested.
     
  24. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Canada
    Network Authentication Issues: Reflect v7.1.2722 users (example here) are currently reporting failures of backups to network locations due to non-use or incorrect use of stored login credentials by scheduled task operations.

    Macrium has promised (see Nick Sills' post here) that an update "due next week" will include "a change to network authentication during scheduled backups." In the meantime, users would be well advised to verify carefully that any scheduled backups to network destinations have completed successfully.

    __
    P.S.: Note that replacing the v7.1.2722 ReflectBin.exe file with an earlier version may correct the problem if a temporary workaround is needed pending the promised update.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2017
  25. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,541
    To mount ISO images, Virtual Clone Drive has existed for a long time. It´s free and can be used on Windows 7 and 10.
     
Loading...