Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I use it frequently, as I often test restore in image to ensure it works. Just no better way.
     
  2. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    778
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I really like having both - the CD and the boot menu - just in case one or the other doesn't work properly. Guess I am overly-protective.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Don't get me wrong, because of the different machines I have I have the CD's for all 3 versions of WinPe Macrium offers. I do test them occasionally.

    Pete
     
  4. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    992
    Thanks Pete. I did not know there was a Process box as there is no arrow. That fixed the problem and Macrium is working fine now.

    Silver
     
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    New version 5.3.7134 released:
    http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v5.0/v5.3.7134/details5.3.7134.htm
     
  6. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
  7. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello test,

    My copy did update via the internal updater. It is paid version so I cannot comment about the free...
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Same here
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,102
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    confirmed as well
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,816
    That's unusual.
    I got it alright with Professional.

    Unless they pulled it.
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,642
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    I've just updated my Standard edition with built-in updater with no problem.
     
  12. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Same here. :)
     
  13. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2014
  14. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
  15. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,816
    I see it shows [UEFI] after (64-bit).
    I haven't noticed that before.
     
  16. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
    it's now available also for the free version :)
     
  17. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
    Confirmed ;)
     
  18. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I updated it and for some reason it no longer works. :doubt:

    UPDATE
    Thanks that helped with my issue.

    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2014
  19. SA Jack

    SA Jack Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Posts:
    50
    It's been a month since I first reported Macrium crashing at startup. I've followed suggestions from postings here as well as Macrium's site. I saw a notation on Macrium that Malwarebytes is a possible culprit. So I uninstalled it, rebooted, then started Reflect. Unfortunately, to program continues to fail. I noted in a prior post on this thread that I use Comodo Internet Security and I've made Macrium a "trusted" program.

    Is it time to look to an alternative for, up until the past month, has been an excellent program?
     
  20. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,816
    There's your clue.

    Think of what new programs you have installed in the past month.
    If you can't remember, go into Programs and Features and sort by date (Installed On).
     
  21. SA Jack

    SA Jack Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Posts:
    50
    No new programs other than trying out AOMEI as a possible Macrium replacement. A number of existing programs have been updated during the past month. I neglected to mention that I am able to run the latest version of Macrium Reflect in safe mode. No problems at all.

    Thanks for your suggestion Hadron.
     
  22. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,816
    If it works in Safe Mode, then it has to be something you are running that is causing it.
     
  23. SA Jack

    SA Jack Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Posts:
    50
    I agree. However, I've not added anything new for quite sometime. And it has only been the version 5.3 updates that the problem began, and continues.
     
  24. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
    v5.3.7149 is out.

    • "Bad file descriptor" error during cloningThe error "Bad file descriptor" could cause a clone to fail. This has been resolved
    • "Dynamic Disks not supported" ErrorFree and Standard editions. The error message "Dynamic Disks are not supported" could incorrectly be displayed when editing an XML file. This has been resolved.
    • Windows PE driver copy problemIf the source driver files are marked as 'Read Only' this could cause a copy failure when building the Windows PE rescue media. This has been resolved.
    • Improved support for Linux systems using Grub 2


    http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v5.0/v5.3.7149/details5.3.7149.htm
     
  25. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Plenty of updates from Macrium lately. :thumb:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.