Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. SilentMusic7

    SilentMusic7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    I saw a review of Macrium Reflect Free v5 that said:
    After installation you will be presented with a registration pop up box that contains a serial key specific to your machine upon clicking "ok" an internet connection is required to authorize the serial before you can start using the program, also the WinPE recovery disk will not function correctly if the software is not registered... Now those are two major negative factors for me that can present problems if you come to do an emergency recovery and the software is not pre-installed.​

    Do these same issues exist with Macrium Reflect Free v6?
     
  2. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Since I am not a real confident what I am doing is always the proper way to accomplish what I want, I am asking this question about Macrium Templates and Scheduling. I now have in place a scheduled back up consisting of their grandfather template: 12 Full Backups, 4 differential and 10 incremental images for retention.

    Is this rather much for a user who uses the pc for only email and internet? No business use and small personal finances? I am thinking maybe 4 full backups would be sufficient and am not sure about incremental and differential. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  3. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Is there any way I can edit the description of an image?
     
  4. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    940
    NO! Free does NOT require anything and does create a rescue disk just fine. It is what I use on my 64 bit WIN10 system with an SSD.
     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    A "COMMENT" may be used but only at the time of image execution (based on an existing definition). After the fact, it is not possible...
     
  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    It is rather much if you don't need access to files that are a year old. You need to decide how far back you think you may need to both restore your system (upon disaster or emergency) or dredge up an old file. From this criteria you may easily set up a nice backup schema.

    Personally, I retain (2) monthly FULLs, weekly DIFFs and (7) daily INCs. When the retention mgmt occurs with the FULLs, their dependent DIFFs automatically disappear in the process. This gives me access to the (7) most recent INCs plus at least 4-8 DIFFs and the (2) most recent FULLs... maximum 2-mo worth of retention. This is basically all I need for System protection. I run a separate schema for MANUAL snapshot mgmt.

    I think individual file backup is much better managed by Replication/Synching applications anyway (IMHO)... imaging is primarily for disaster control, or in my case with Reflect... a great snapshot alternative to the Rollback RXes of the world.
     
  7. SilentMusic7

    SilentMusic7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Does this mean that I can Macrium Reflect Free v6 on a computer with no connection to the internet, create a rescue disk, and use that rescue disk to backup and restore the PC with no problems? For my PCs with an internet connection, I would prefer to block Macrium Reflect Free with the firewall. No need for license activation internet communications.
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    You need an internet connection to get access for the files needed when the Rescue Media is created... after that, not needed.
     
  9. SilentMusic7

    SilentMusic7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks for clarifying.
    Is the Rescue Media unique to each PC? Could I create Rescue Media on a 32-bit Windows 7 PC with MBR disks for use with a 64-bit Windows 8.1 PC with GPT disks?
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The Rescue Media contains a standard set of MicroSloth drivers and as it's being built, it will grab any system specific drivers it finds on the machine it's being built on. That said, if the system it's built on doesn't have the "special" drivers needed for all the systems it will be used on, you may have some problems with disk access. Most problem areas lie in the network arena (for networked storage devices) and local specialized RAID systems. Macrium will allow you to populate the Rescue Media being made with any specialized driver you wish.

    It is recommended to build PE v5.x rescue media as they contain the most universal driver set available. The WInPE OS does not have to be the same as the OS being imaged or restored, as long as the hardware it's being run on can handle the WinPE OS. I use a WinPE v5+ OS for images/restorations on XP, 7, 8.1 & 10 systems.
    Of course a x86 WinPE should run just fine on any x64-based hardware but not the other way around. Based on that, an x86 Rescue Mdia would be the most universally useful. As far as MBR vs UEFI/GPT is concerned, the Rescue media handles SOURCE images and DESTINATION restorations... if the source and destination are compatible, the operation should go smoothly regardless of the Rescue Media architecture.
     
  11. SilentMusic7

    SilentMusic7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    @TheRollbackFrog - thanks for the detailed reply.

    I have used ShadowProtect for years with MBR disks. On my new PCs with GPT disks, StorageCraft's cross-platform recovery environment fails to recognize the GPT partition info, and it won't do a secure EFI boot. For my existing licenses, I was thinking of trying the Recovery Environment Builder, which is supposed to support secure EFI boot on 64-bit Windows 8.1. But then I would need to buy two more licenses for my new PCs. My other option is to switch to Macrium Reflect Free v6.

    Is Macrium Reflect's Rescue Media builder similar to StorageCraft's in that it uses Microsoft's ADK?
    See https://www.storagecraft.com/suppor...ing-recovery-environment/creating-recovery-en

    All the PCs I plan to backup (going forward) are 64-bit Windows 8.1 with GPT disks. Going with your recommendation of PE v5.x rescue media, would Macrium Reflect use Microsoft's ADK 8.0 or ADK 8.1? Can I just download that directly from Microsoft (using my Windows 7 PC) and build the rescue media on a 64-bit Windows 8.1 PC that is disconnected from the internet?
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi SilentMusic

    Having built both SP rescue media and Macrium rescue media, you will fine Macirum much much smoother.

    Pete
     
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Macrium does not require the WAIK/ADK environments to be installed to produce its Rescue Media. It downloads the pieces it needs to produce its media directly from MicroSloth. The downloads run from 160mB to about 450mB depending on your configuration. Using Reflect, you may direct where Macrium stores those elements upon initial download. Once resident, no more downloads are required (unless the Macrium modules need to be updated which happens upon occasion <the app gets even better/faster, bugs fixed, etc.>). from there on, Rescue Media creation is pretty painless.

    As I mentioned, Macrium will construct its media using a strong standard set of drivers (especially if using the latest WinPE release... W10 isn't quite available yet although it has been tested to work just fine), it will then add any unique 3rd party drivers it finds on the "construction" system, then it will ask you if you'd like to add your own driver set. If you build it right, you can add any driver you wish (for all your unique systems) and then should have a fairly universal Rescue Media for use in your environment.

    Unless your images are being managed on some sort of networked-based storage elements, I find that the standard Rescue Media, without any additional interaction during its creation process, works very well almost all the time.

    Edit: you should keep one licensed system on the internet... that's the only way Macrium has to tell you that an update is available, what functional changes are included in that update, and whether they recommend creation of a new Rescue Environment or not.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2015
  14. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland

    You can also give different comments on the incrementals/differentials, as per guided by TheRollbackFrog on earlier posts here.
    If you don't do it,it will have the same comment as the first FULL image in the chain,or no comment at all.
    For me atleast,a comment on every incremental is a MUST so I know what has changed.
     
  15. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks for your advice, TRF - I really appreciate it. This helps me set it up.
     
  16. SilentMusic7

    SilentMusic7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    For me, item-level recovery is very important, but rarely. I did some testing of the free and trial home editions of Macrium Reflect v6.0.753. I wanted to check with this forum to see if I understand the differences correctly.
    1. It appears that the home edition images support copying files from 'Explore Image', even from the free edition PE.
    2. It appears that the free edition images do not support copying files from 'Explore Image', even from the home edition within Windows.
    Questions:
    A. Are my understandings above correct?
    B. Do the home edition images support copying files from 'Explore Image' on a different PC with the free edition?
    C. Do the home edition images support copying files from 'Explore Image' on a different PC/license with the home edition?
    D. Do I need to decide whether I ever want to item-level recovery before I choose an edition, or can I change my mind later?
     
  17. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations,

    @Raza007, Post. #2662. Thank you for the answer!
    "do not know anything about AOMEI, but Macrium does provide an option to add a recovery environment to your Boot menu for you to boot into the recovery if your OS does not start."

    And how do add a recovery environment to your Boot menu. Just in case the OS does not start. And tutorials and/or links for Windows 10? Anyone can answert?

    Kind regards,
     
  18. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The Recovery Environment is added to your BOOT Control Data (BCD) providing for a pre-BOOT option to select Macrium's Recovery Media. This is done using a selection under the application's "Backup" TAB called "Other Tasks"
     
  19. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @TheRollFrog,

    Thank you for fast response!
     
  20. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    Start Windows 10 in Safe Mode

    EasyBCD and UEFI

    Best would be,if you make an USB recovery media (USB memory stick) for Macrium,
    or burn it on a dvd-r/w, and boot the machine from the cd-drive.
     
  21. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations, @Stode,

    Could you provide an link/tutorial for doing the above for Windows 10 in Post #2745.
    Links/tutorials can be provided by anyone.

    Kind regards,
     
  22. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,429
    Location:
    USA
    See this article from Macrium user guide: Adding a boot menu option for system Image recovery
     
  23. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @Raza0007,
    Appreciate the link! Thank you!
     
  24. jura0001

    jura0001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    47
    I have a multi boot system, with for instance Windows 7 and an old XP installation.

    I could install and use Macrium Reflect free 6.0.753 in XP just fine.

    But when I install Macrium Reflect free in Windows 7, I always end up with the situation that reflect.exe does not launch the normal and complete GUI - instead (even in a running Windows 7 system!!) reflect.exe launches the windows pe version of the GUI. Why does this happen in windows 7?
    Furthermore, it always ask me about my keyboard layout and sets a screen resolution of 1024x768!

    So, to sum it up:
    Macrium Reflect Free installed in XP works normally and launches the complete GUI. All options are available.

    Macrium Reflect Free installed in Windows 7 always asks me about my keyboard layout, sets a screen resolution of 1024x768 and only launches the somewhat limited GUI of the windows PE environment. Obviously, not all menu items (those of the normal desktop version of reflect.exe) are available - for instance "other tasks" only has 3 entries (keyboard config, network config, screen resolution), but nothing about creating a rescue medium (I succeeded in creating one in XP, though).

    Does anyone have an idea or - maybe - the same experience?

    At least, the PE GUI seems to do all tasks fine, like backing up, restoring, exploring/mounting an image...


    thanks
     
  25. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Something that annoys me with restoring system images is the wait times, 10 seconds before restore starts as well as 10 seconds after before the system reboots, in total 20 seconds with no button to skip the wait time, in contrast to the 22 second restore time, so almost 50% is just waiting! Supposedly the next version should address this but it seems to take a long time to come out? Anyone have any insight as to when we might see the next update?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.