Macrium Reflect Questions

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by jpcummins, May 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I recently downloaded the Macrium Reflect Free Edition. Made a backup of my C:\ Drive, I only have the one partition, and performed the backup check for errors. Everything appears to have worked fine. I next made a linux rescue disk on a CD. The program was very easy to use even for someone as inexperienced as me.

    I should now check to see whether or not the rescue disk will work. Therein, is the problem. I am not sure exactly how to go about doing this. If I simply place the CD rescue disk in the CD player and turn the computer on it will boot from the C:\ Drive. Am I going to have to change in CMOS the boot up sequence so that when I turn my computer on it first looks to the CD Player then the internal C:\ Drive?

    I hate appearing so dumb but the last backup I performed was back in the DOS days.

    As always I will appreciate all replies and I would thank you in advance.

    John
     
  2. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Yes, you need to boot into the BIOS and change the boot sequence so that your optical drive is first. The rescue cd is used in the event you can't boot into the Windows environment to use the Macrium program. I'd suggest saving your backups to two different physical locations. Very important because if one backup location fails you have an option. I've used the Macrium free program recently and it worked flawlessly. BTW, you are not appearing dumb at all ;)
     
  3. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Many computers now have a boot option. You might notice when bios is posting that it says "press F12 for boot menu" or something similar. I love this feature. You just need to press that button at the right time, and you can then choose to boot from any hdd, any cd-rom, or if you have a usb device attached, one of those. This way you don't have to go into the bios and change your boot order if you don't want to.

    Sul.
     
  4. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Am I understanding you both correctly? What you are saying is that if my rescue disk is on a CD, the boot sequence has to first be to the CD player. I have not been in CMOS for a long time but the best I remember I was given the choice of a primary and a secondary. And, if I remember correctly, to get to CMOS I must hold down the F8 key when I turn the computer on.

    Is there another way to create a rescue disk other than to a CD, Floppy, or USB? Could it be created to an external drive? And if so, would this not be the best way? What do most users create the rescue disk on?

    Sorry to be such a pain I just want to be sure that I do this right. Thanks very much.

    John
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    The rescue cd you created is perfectly fine. Sully's method for getting to the boot menu may also work for you. When you first hit the power button on your pc, look for something like: Press F2 (or F1, Del...or whatever) for Boot menu or Press Del (or F1, F2...or whatever) to Enter Setup, where this latter option gets you into the BIOS where you can set the boot order "semi-permanently" to your liking. It's fairly intuitive, whichever method you choose.

    *EDIT*

    if you give the make/model of yor machine, someone can provide a specific procedure for you, or use Google to find out ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2010
  6. timestand

    timestand Former Poster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Posts:
    172
    Hi, is there any other program that creates read-only images like Macrium Reflect ?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.