Macrium Reflect free version issue

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by JoeBlack40, Jul 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Please someone can tell me what it's going on with this error message?That's why i don't use use Macrium free...this is not happening with with Paragon or Active Disk.I've just made a C image and just wanted to restore it...Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. merisi

    merisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    316
    Where is the C image located that you're looking to restore?
     
  3. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    It's located on an external 500 GB hard disk.
     
  4. merisi

    merisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    316
    I can't understand what the problem is. Saying that I've never been able to get Macrium to work in the past. I know there are a few people that use Macrium on the forum so hopefully one of them will reply.
     
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    The error message says it all, you need to create and boot from the recovery disc IIRC. Now this is a problem with secure boot feature.
     
  6. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    What do you mean by that?I'm not an expert on this one.And why the other backup software never gave me that error?BTW,meanwhile i tried Ocster backup pro and O&O Backup 6 and everything went fine.
     
  7. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Is that your boot drive? You can't recover an image of the boot drive while using it. I doubt the other tools will allow you to do this either. AX64 is the only tool I know that will do this, but the system is literally frozen from use until it's done.
     
  8. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Even ax64 requires a reboot at some point doesn't it? :)
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    Like MarcP said, you can't recover when you're using the computer normally. So you need to boot from the recovery disc you created to enter to the recovery menu. But you may need to disable the secure boot from the BIOS if your computer had that feature.

    I don't know about other backup tools, but even Windows system image recovery will require you to reboot and then takes you to the recovery menu. If there's a tool that can recover the system partition image when you're on normal mode, then I suddenly have a bad feeling. :doubt:
     
  10. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Yes, at the end, but it allows you to recover the boot drive without having to do it via the boot disk. You can do it within Windows. That's what I'm saying.
     
  11. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Look,when i'm using Paragon Backup&Recovery 10 for example,when i restore an image,i open the program,i chose the restore feature and the backup image located on an external hard,it tells me to reboot,after that the recovery part begins automatically.No boot disc or any type of recovery disc involved. Maybe i wasn't clear enough or i don't know what i'm talking about...

    That's exactly my point here.Why Macrium can't do that for me?

    Just tried again Aomei Backupper and all i can say is...awesome!This is what i have been expected from Macrium...but not anymore.Uninstalled and never touch that software again.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 26, 2013
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    AOMEI? A new toy to try. Thanks for that. :D

    Anyway, maybe you can ask for such feature on their support forum if they had any.
     
  13. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Now I understand and it's a pretty good idea! A mid-boot environment to recover C:. I like it. They've been really good at listening to suggestions so I'll try to submit that one.
     
  14. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    Macrium can do it for you, but not in the free version. The capability is provided through an optional recovery-from-boot-menu feature. You gotta reboot in some fashion or you'd see the operating system commit hara-kiri.
     
  15. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Well,there are freewares with that capability as i already shown.So the lack of this feature makes Macrium free useless,at least to me.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2013
  16. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Fine, move on then. It's not like you're paying for it.
     
  17. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Chill out man,why are you so jumpy about?Are you the developer or you are working for them?Damn...:rolleyes: You have to face it,it's a piece of junk compared to other freewares :thumbd: :D Try Aomei Backupper and you will understand what i'm talking about.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2013
  18. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,281
    True in Windows 7, which offers several different methods to restore images. The command-line procedure available in 8.1 requires to boot from the Windows installation medium. http://www.howtogeek.com/167984/how-to-create-and-restore-system-image-backups-on-windows-8.1/.

    For years there have been several methods to restore the system partition. One of these is the "pre-OS" method, which doesn´t require a boot medium. The advantages of the boot medium are reliability and flexibility (doesn´t require to have the imaging program installed, can be used if Windows doesn´t work, or to restore to a new disk, etc.).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.