Macrium Reflect (free) question

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by niki, May 21, 2015.

  1. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    I have been creating images of my PC for quite some time with Reflect.

    Have a question though and that is: Does Macrium Reflect free also include restore points when creating images? Yes or no?
     
  2. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    415
    Do you mean Windows System Restore points?

    If so - following a quick google - it appears that it doesn't, or at least didn't in 2013. Not sure if the free version includes a sector-by-sector option or not - presumably if it does then that would probably include them.
     
  3. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The answer is NO (in v6 as well)... (see HERE)
     
  4. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Thank you so much TheRollbackFrog in giving me the answer I was waiting for. :thumb:

    Thanks to taotoo as well.
     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    You're quite welcome! I hope the "no Windows restore points" is not a deal buster for you. I believe the philosophy of any imager that doesn't take "restore points" is that there's no better restore point than the image itself (it contains everything where restore points are very limited in what they can return to).
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,055
    Totally agree, in fact between Raxco IR, and now especially Macrium, System Restore is one of the first things I turn off on any new computer.
     
  7. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    415
    Following the links, I'm confused as to whether an image does include restore points (which then get deleted by Windows upon the image being restored), or doesn't include the restore points full stop.

    edit: a quick check of an existing image shows that it includes the System Volume Information folder and (at least some of) its contents.
     
  8. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    While I 100% agree that a reliable image is always better than any restore points, I don't agree that they should be be left out of a "complete" drive/partition image. Is there a setting in Reflect to "fix" (undo) this?

    *EDIT*
    IMO, the only things that should not be part of a complete image are the swap/page file and the hibernation file.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2015
  9. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    415
    It appears that they may actually get included in the backup and that upon restoring the image Windows then deletes them.
     
  10. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply but that doesn't give me warm and fuzzy feelings. :( For my own machines, I disable System Restore. But for the folks I support and help, they absolutely need all the "recovery" eggs in their basket it can hold. If there is no setting to override this, it will kill Reflect recommendations for me...
     
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Taotoo... I must correct.

    In a similar thread over on the Macrium Support Forum, statements by both Nick and Stephen (Support Specialists/Developers?) have stated that RESTORE POINTs are NOT included in the image at all.

    If you're not Forum members, I'd be happy to ask how they may be included if you find them necessary.
     
  12. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Froggie: If you don't mind, please do so. :)
     
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The question (and solution) has been asked about in the Forum...
     
  14. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    415
    This is why I'm confused - the thread linked to earlier itself contains a link to another thread where a third Macrium support person seems to suggest that they are deleted upon restore...

    Anyway, it appears there is/was a Macrium utility that would allow for the restore points to be retained, called mrrestorepoints.exe.
     
  15. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    I have another question and that is:.

    There are 2 selections available in the free version and those are:

    1: Image selected disk on this computer.
    2: Create an image of the partitions required to backup and restore windows.

    I imaged 1 and then 2 the next day.

    1: showed 32.7 GB after imaging.
    2: showed 29.0 GB after imaging.

    What is the difference? What is #1 including what #2 is not including?

    Which one is recommended to use to restore all what I need to restore Windows, including the software I have installed?
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2015
  16. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665

    I do not know what they want you to use, but I can tell you that I use #1 on my system. I believe that option selects ALL Partitions. My system is a 512GB SATA III SSD with the 4 partitions that Windows 8.1 64 bit Pro creates. I have done several restores and all 4 partitions have come back OK! I image TO a WD Black 3TB HDD.
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    niki,

    Can you post a screenshot of Disk Management? Then we can answer your question.
     
  18. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The first (if you look) will have all the partitions on your system CHECKed for imaging, the second only checks the partitions required to restore your Windows system (EFI, SRP, Recovery, System <C:\> partition). option #2... if your files are on your System partition, all is well, otherwise you'll need option #1 to get all your partitions (DATA included).

    In option #1, every one of your partitions may be CHECKed or unCHECKed depending on what you want to image.
     
  19. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Brian K: Thank you. Here is a screenshot:
     

    Attached Files:

  20. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    I have always used the #1 selection except wanted to try and see what #2 would look like. Looks like the #1 is what I would need in order to get everything imaged. I will remove the #2 option next time I image again in a few weeks' time.

    Thanks to TheRollbackFrog and MPSAN. Much appreciated in having gotten your expertise and knowledge!
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    niki,

    Interesting. It looks like a Dell Win7 system.

    The Recovery partition is the System partition as it contains the booting files.
    The Windows partition is the Boot partition. It isn't the System partition. (Microsoft terminology)
    Both of these partitions are needed to boot Windows. The 39 MB OEM partition isn't essential.

    But this doesn't explain the discrepancy you saw. Can you create the images again, one immediately after the other and let us know the sizes. When you select "Create an image of the partitions required to backup and restore windows", are the Recovery and Windows partitions selected by Macrium?
     
  22. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Brian K: The #2 image was taken just the day after the #1 image. And yes, it's A Dell Vostro 460 workstation, Win 7. Nothing was added or changed within that 24 hr period. I don't remember what was ticked in Reflect when imaging #2. It would take me at least 1 hour to create those 2 images. Would tomorrow be okay in taking them? Thanks so much for helping me with your knowledge and expertise.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2015
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    niki,

    Weird. Take your time.

    I'd use this choice "1: Image selected disk on this computer" too.
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    niki,

    When you create the images could you also create an image of only the C: drive and let us know the size?
     
  25. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Will also do tomorrow. It's bedtime here now. Good night and thanks.
     
Loading...