Macrium Reflect 6: Question re Windows PE boot files

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by allizomeniz, Dec 9, 2015.

  1. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    906
    I created Windows PE rescue disc with the Wizard in Macrium. From the way it appears, after you download the files you have to create rescue media on a disc, flash drive, etc., you can't skip the last step.

    What I'd like to do, since I now have a rescue disc that works on our other computers, is install the files on the other computers so I can add Macrium recovery environment to their boot options. Is there a way to do that through the Wizard, or if not, could I just copy the contents of the C:\boot\macrium folder on the other computers? One is Vista and the other is Win 7.

    I also found another "waik" folder in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Macrium\waik and this file C:\Program Files\Macrium\Reflect\WAIKFiles00x86.exe. Does anyone know if they would also have to be copied. Thanks.

    **EDIT** I also have Rescue.iso
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,053
    I keep the usb drive for all three of my machines. But for the boot manager what I do on the other machines, is go thru the creation of an ISO file, install the boot manager, and then delete the iso files.
     
  3. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    906
    So you just choose "install boot manager" from the wizard?
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,053
    No it's not i the wizard. It's in the other options on the left panel.
     
  5. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    906
    Okay, I'm afraid I'm not following this at all. I don't know if it's because I have the free version. I don't see anything in the left panel about creating an ISO or installing a boot manager. :thumbd:
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,053
    In the paid version there is an item "other" It's under that. I don't know about the free version. Maybe Froggie does.
     
  7. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The product COMPARISON CHART states that the PE BOOT (Item = "PE BOOT Menu) is available in the FREE edition. I don't have it installed anywhere at the moment but I'm sure the option is available if Macrium states it is.
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I just took a quick look and as Pete has stated, your needed options are located under the "Other Tasks" DropDown after having selected the "Disk Image" TAB in the left hand PANE...

    Create BOOTable Rescue Media: allows you to select the WinPE version of your choice (should be PE10 for the greatest driver support) when creating a UFD, CD/DVD or ISO Recovery Media.

    Add a BOOT menu option to start the Reflect recovery environment: this option creates the local BOOT menu option to use for accessing the Recovery media in a high speed way... not necessarily useful if restoring to a HDD/SSD replacement device or if the volume being restored has been wiped in some way, but very handy if doing restores (aka snapshotting) to recent images.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2015
  9. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    906
    Frog, I've got that option you're talking about but when I tried it yesterday it wouldn't add the boot option because I didn't have the necessary recovery files installed and I couldn't see a way to install them from there. After I downloaded the files and created a recovery disc from the "Create bootable recovery media" Wizard then it added the boot option just fine.

    I went ahead and created a new disk in Vista. When I do Win 7 I'll check the "Add a boot menu option" again, maybe I overlooked something. Appreciate the feedback. I'll return with an update after I do Win 7.
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    From my experience, the Recovery Media needs to be created first using the 1st option... after that it is available for installation under the BOOT menu option but not until then. If you don't really want or need a UFD/CD/DVD Recovery media, just create an ISO file and throw the ISO away when finished. The Recovery Media image has been created and will be available for the Local BOOT option when you decide to install.
     
  11. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    906
    How do you just create the ISO file? I don't remember seeing that option anywhere.
     
  12. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    During the Rescue Media Wizard process, at the "Burn Rescue Media" window, you'll see the "CD/DVD burner" option checked. You'll notice a DropDown box at the end of the option string. When you drop that down you'll see any and all burner options available to you... multiple burners if you have them on your system PLUS an ISO option.
     
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Allizomeniz, if you don't have it available, you should download Reflects PDF Version of their User Manual... most of your questions, I believe, are covered in that document.
     
  14. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    906
    I might have it and just overlooked it or didn't know what it was. I'll check for it when I do Win 7. Appreciate the help.
     
  15. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I think OP is askibg if he can skip to download PE files on each PC while adding boot menue by copying the necessary PE files from one PC to the others. I think it is possible. What I did in the past was that I ran the web installer and let it download the macrium plus WinPE files altogether. Once it is downloaded it can be used on any PC to install macrium plus win PE components. Just keep downloaded installer and WinPE files on same folder before running installer.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2015
  16. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    906
    aigle I checked it out and I can see what you're saying. That would definitely be one way to go.
     
  17. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    906
    I checked today when I updated Win 7 and I saw Create ISO Image in the CD/DVD dropdown. Thanks all, you taught me a few new tricks to make life easier in the future. :thumb:
     
  18. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    I tried to downloads free twice and get MD5 check failed each time. I don't see anything in my Windows Defender or Malwarbyte logs.
     
  19. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    ok got it to install and create a rescue USB stick but not seeing any restore image on it .
     
  20. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Go to the top of that pane and <click> on "Browse for an image file."
     
  21. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    I did that but do I have to create an image first on the USB stick and if so I have not figured how on the free version.
    I am able to boot to the USb stick
    and have the option set to boot menu without stick installed.\
    I am getting hung up when it asks for destination folder to save image, I tried documents and get error. There is an option to save to CD but not USB
    Ther is an option to save image to a CD but not a USB stick.
     
  22. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    What I am trying to do is save a restore image to my bootable USb stick. If I can not do that the program is no good to me.
     
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    You can sure do it
     
  24. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    well how?
    I have never used this program before I used TrueImage in the past.
    What are the steps?
     
  25. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    BoreDog, I'm not clear on what you'r trying to image but if it's your Windows System partition, you cannot save that image to your DOCUMENTS folder... why, 'cause it's on the same partition you're trying to image. It needs to be imaged to some other volume not being imaged

    I will suggest the same to you as I did to the OP... get a PDF copy of the Reflect User's Manual HERE and look it over. It covers all the things you seem to be confused about.
     
Loading...