Macrium Reflect 5 released

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by buckshee, Jul 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I ended up cremating an Macrium WinPE USB rescue stick, but when it loads it claims it needs to load heaps of drivers, which end up failing to load. But I was still able to create an image, but it takes 35 minutes to create the image, but Acronis VistaPE CD only takes 20 minutes to create the image.

    SO back to Acronis Trueimage again.
     
  2. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Does anybody know the answer to this question?
     
  3. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Nevermind. The WinPE created by the free version can create images :D.
     
  4. dueceswild

    dueceswild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Posts:
    187
    I am currently stuck trying to make a decision between this and IFW. Looking for ease of use, and reliability. For those of you that use this version of Macrium, how reliable is it (and their support for that matter)? I have used trial versions of both, and both have pro's and cons. But I can't speak to the "long term" with the trials. It will be for a Windows 7 machine.
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i own both. imo ease of use macrium. reliability and backups that works EVERY time IFW all the way.
     
  6. dueceswild

    dueceswild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Posts:
    187
    Thank you. That is what I was looking for .
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2012
  7. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  8. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    @MrBrian : interesting, thanks !
     
  9. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    You're welcome :).
     
  10. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    696
    If the linux bootcd can also do backup, I think more people will like it.:D
     
  11. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    Problem for me is that I have never been able to get a free Macrium Linux boot disc to work on a certain desktop Dell I have tried it on. The Win PE discs always work...
     
  12. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    Is this a Macrium file

    I am nonsavvy. When trying to restore a Windows restore point its not successful because of a corrupt file C:\Windows\winsxs\Backup\AM5334~1.DLL - is that a Macrium file? I tried Macrium and made probably some faults when trying a backup. Macrium is uninstalled, but maybe the backup attempt resultet in this corrupt file that now stops Win System Restore?

    Anybody knows + suggestions what to do?

    Best regards
     
  13. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    I have both and use IFW/IFL 100% of the time. Never failed me and only gets better. :) Good luck!
     
  14. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    I have never had much luck with the linux based Rescue CD from Macrium either.
     
  15. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    The free version don't support Dynamic volumes/drives :'(
     
  16. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,683
    True,only the Pro version does.
     
  17. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Real shame :( There seems to not exist a single free imaging program that supports backing up AND restoring Dynamic drives :'(
     
  18. batsec

    batsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Germany
    Which is better ? Acronis True Image or Macrium Reflect ? Sorry, I'm unfamiliar to this product.
     
  19. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,902
    not to initiate a A vs B war, but my personal experience is that I have had better luck with Acronis.
     
  20. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Too late : I had better experiences with Macrium Reflect V4, where every single restoration I made worked fine. Plus recovery media is based on WinPE, whereas Acronis is Linux based.

    The only time Macrium let me down (sort of) was when I changed PC for a Win64 machine using Raid 0 array and USB3. The recovery media is not able to detect the new H/W. Upgrade to V5 was too costly, so I switched to Acronis Home 2011 using a BdJ offer. Not tried a recovery with ATIH 2011 though.
     
  21. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    908
    Lost count of the new versions, still using 4.2 on my Vaio and about to make an image on my friend's new laptop - is v 5 the recommended now? or should I stick with v 4.2?
     
  22. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    By all means I would stay with 4.2 is it works fine there and if the recovery media boots ok and see all your backup devices.
     
  23. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    users of v5 do they still limit you to only ONE download of the winpe disc after you install for the first time, imo a stupid thing when most come with winpe like active@ built in.. i know some use a builder like ifw but i own and use active@ for my main boot disc and add ifw to it. a awesome combo.. i always hated that about macrium if i ever needed to reinstall and didnt have the original winpe download to reinstall i would have been screwed
     
  24. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    738
    Huh? The WinPE disc comes with the product. Not a separate download. And when a patch is applied, it gets patched as well if necessary.
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    doesnt matter now anyway its being killed by ms and macrium has only 6 months left to use winpe anyway
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.