Macrium Patch; Do I need a New Recovery Disc Now?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Daveski17, Apr 2, 2015.

  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Hello, I received an update patch today for Macrium Reflect Free Edition 5.3 (x64). The build number is now 7299. I was just wondering if I needed to burn a new recovery disc when Macrium updates or issues patches like this?

    Thanks, Dave.

    macriumupdateinfo.jpg
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Depends. If the patch affects the Recovery Environment , then it's a good idea. If not then no.

    Pete
     
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK thanks Pete.
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,045
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Just remember... the recovery environment includes slightly hamstrung versions of the exact same software you're running under Windows. If the patches affect image or restoration functions under Windows, these application modules WILL BE affected as well.

    If you think the patch will help your system experience (were you seeing the bug that the patch addresses?), I would urge you to remake any Recovery Media or ISOs that you may use.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Which means a good idea to think about this after Windows UPdates
     
  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,045
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Remaking Recovery Media and ISOs of such after Windows Updates will not be effective. The WinPE environments are not updated by MicroSloth like the LIVE Windows environment. The WinPEs are stabilized at major change points, i.e. Win7, Win7sp1, Win8, Win8.1, Win8.1 Update 1.

    If that's what you were referencing above... (not enough coffee for me yet? :eek:)
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You could always Ask Leo ... https://askleo.com/do-i-need-to-make-a-new-rescue-disc-every-time-my-backup-software-updates/

    'The risk is that at some point the backup software will update itself so the format of the backup changes somewhat. That format change could cause the rescue media that you made six months ago not be able to understand the backup.
    It’s not a disaster. If that happens, find another machine, make yourself a rescue disc right then and there with the most current edition of the software (in this case, Macrium Reflect), and use that recovery disc to restore or recover from whatever backup you might have.

    With Macrium, the good news is that the rescue media appears to be completely backwards compatible. So it is theoretically possible to never make a rescue media until the day you need it. The only thing you need on that day is some other working computer with a CD burner. You can then download the Macrium Reflect rescue CD and burn it on a working computer and then take it over to whatever machine is having problems.
    In my case, I make a rescue CD when I initially install the software and I squirrel it away in a (physical) CD/DVD folder. In my world, when you need a rescue, you don’t really want to take that additional time. You’re kind of panicking; you want to have things back the way they were as quickly as possible. Having a rescue CD ready to go is one way to avoid that little panic.

    But if you don’t have a rescue disc, just find another machine and make one. You don’t need to make one every single time you update the software.' ~ Ask Leo op cit

     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042

    Nor me, also. Thanks as always Froggie, for keeping us on the straight and narrow
     
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Perhaps I should have checked the release notes ... *cough* ... :oops:

    bugfix.jpg
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,045
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Was that a hernia check? :argh:
     
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I guess so lol. :D
     
  12. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    If your PC is able to boot from a USB-FDD:
    1) It's much faster to create a bootable USB-FDD than a CD/DVD and there's no old CD/DVDs to be thrown out.
    2) It's much faster to boot up from a USB-FDD than from a CD/DVD. (change your BIOS settings)
    Given the small amount of time to create the USB-FDDs, I use two of them, alternating them between upgrades just to be safe. I keep a log of this on a separate drive with other 'data'.
    Burning CD/DVDs is a waste of time and resources and just adds to pollution.
    J
     
  13. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    You'd have to find another machine that has Reflect already installed with the same or higher version #. Is there one close by? Probably not for many users. I admit that I don't know if Macrium would allow Rescue media to be created on a PC that doesn't have Reflect installed, but I doubt it. I also suspect that the Rescue media contains the licence number and would check that against the image which you'd want to restore.
    It's best to create the Recovery media immediately after an update and the time taken then is so much less than looking for another PC on which you could create the media. Then, if you need it, you've got it!
    J
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Thanks for the info, I've been thinking about this. I was informed that a physical recovery disc was needed. I'll have to investigate this further.
     
  15. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Good points. I've made a new recovery disc to be on the safe side.
     
  16. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    Try it if you have an unused FDD handy, you'll be glad that you did or buy two the next time your out and about and do the 'alternate thing'. And, a USB-FDD is a 'disc', it just doesn't spin.

    It only needs to hold 360MB so even a 1GB stick is enough, and they're cheap, especially compared to your time and the cost of many CDs and the waste of old CDs.
    J
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    So, in effect, I could recover from a pen drive instead of a DVD/CD disc?
     
  18. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    I just updated mine and created a new Linux Rescue disk. When I booted the "new" media, it looks like the same version as the past 2 disks.
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    No difference in what you can recover, just difference in speed loading. On a fast machine, USB3, it loads in 5x faster then from CD
     
  20. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    UK
    Shouldn't it alert you if you need to update the recovery software too?.....
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, thanks. I'll have a look at using a pen drive.
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It may do that.
     
  23. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    The update info did do that.
     
  24. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    heh i was reading FDD as floppy Disk Drive rather than flash
     
  25. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,045
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    That's because it is... :)
     
Loading...