Macrium on HP

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by korben, Jan 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    You know what..it would never have occurred to me Macrium may now work, or am I going mad?

    my friend's laptop in my hands, beeing optimized, natural finale - Macrium image- there are partitions:

    C - system, win7 x64
    D - recovery
    E - HP TOOLS
    S - Files [for her files obv]

    Macrium hasn't detected any of them, instead it shows the whole HD

    what we can see is:
    Disk 1 - Hitachi 465GB - Invalid

    Is it possible that one of the services I disabled previously is responsible for this strange situation? I'm stuck...


    edit/being a curious cat I just installed Paragon B&R 10 Compact Edit

    all the partitions detected - ready for any operations

    yet...creating image impossible...I'm more n more concerned now...

    any ideas guys?

    edit2/

    active smart shows absolutely no problems with HDD
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2011
  2. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Are you running Reflect from the Windows OS or from the bootable Media environment. There are some cases where the result might differ.

    You could also try a new product : ToDoBackup 2.0 Home, which is free and offers Full & Incremental imaging.
     
  3. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    Yep, from the OS

    I've done so numerous times on different machines.

    downloading TODO2.0 - will give it a try too
    name:
    DISK 1 (dynamic)

    any other ideas?
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2011
  4. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
    Most (all?) free imaging products do not support dynamic disks. Paragon free does not support them (the paid versions do) and Macrium does not support them at all (both free or paid).

    I wonder what the hp techs "were smoking", when they decided to go with a dynamic disk. o_O

    If you want to go with a free imaging product stick with windows 7 system image.
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Back-up-your-programs-system-settings-and-files

    Panagiotis
     
  5. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    darn it
    finally we're getting somewhere

    so it means the only solution I have is windows7

    let me guess - no compression here?

    it says: the copy may take up to 42GB...that's quite a lot
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
    Windows 7 imaging is good , but yes if you are looking only for free solutions is your only option.

    It does compress. 42gb is the maximum that could be used if your files cannot be further compressed (e.g. video files). In normal circumastances 42gb should compress to 20gb, more or less.

    Panagiotis
     
  7. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    we'll se when it finishes

    another drawback - we can't choose what to back up - it goes with lock stock and smoking barrels i.e. the System, recovery + C although I'm only interested in C:

    oh well

    pandlouk, you've been most helpful

    thank you all!
     
  8. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    it's rock solid though.
    i must've used the the imaging and restore functions of Windows 7 well over 100 times in the last 2 years.

    it never failed once to either create or restore an image.:thumb:
     
  9. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
    You are welcome.

    It's a good thing that C, system reserved and recovery are backed-up (at least as an initial backup).

    Another program that you could try, after making this first image with windows 7, is Keriver 1-Click Restore free. But I have no idea if it supports dynamic disks.

    Panagiotis
     
  10. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Maybe you could try (risky?) to convert your dynamic disks into standard ones ? Some partition utilities do that.
     
  11. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    I just used win7 but thatnks for all your other ideas gents!

    was rather quick, final result is 29GB

    quick one: how to hide partitions that IMO should be hidded - RECOVERY + HPTOOLS?
     
  12. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
  13. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
  14. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    pandlouk, you rock, man
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.