Macrium Backup and Hard Drive

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by wildernow, Feb 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wildernow

    wildernow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    28
    I backed my drive c to a external hard drive using Macrium about 2 weeks ago.
    Now I am trying to back up but it seems that I have to format the space on my external hard drive. It seems I cannot have more than 1 image at a time saved.

    Does anyone know if this is normal or more than 1 image can be save on the same partition?

    Also I tried to backup incrementally but this also failed.
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Paid or free version?
     
  3. Kid Shamrock

    Kid Shamrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    207
    Yes, you can have multiple backup sets saved on one partition. It sounds like you've run out of space on the external drive. What are the sizes of your C drive and the external?
     
  4. wildernow

    wildernow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    28
    I have 500MB external hard drive and Macrium Paid version. But I also have another image from another program saved on the same partition.
     
  5. Kid Shamrock

    Kid Shamrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    207
    500 MB? or GB? You didn't state the size of the C drive that you're trying to back up. All you have to do is take the size the external drive divided by the amount of used space on the C drive to get an approx. number of backups that will fit on the external drive.
     
  6. wildernow

    wildernow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    28
    now I installed Novabackup instead. It works a lot better but making an image took a long time.

    it is now as fast as macrium but it seems to be error free.

    mc
     
  7. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    You can save as many images to a partition as you like, up to the capacity of the partition. However, you need to have just one imaging software running at a time. Some imaging software conflict with each other or engage the VSS writer, in that case the second software can not take any images.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.