lsass.exe security accounts manager error status 0xc00002e1 after resize

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by nahmus, Jan 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nahmus

    nahmus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I just used DD10 to resize the D: partition on a Domain controller. the resize completed successfully but on reboot I got the following error

    I talked to an acronis tech and he pointed me to the same article from MS about all of the steps needed to take to fix this.

    I'm posting this because the fix i was able to do was not posted anywhere and it might save someone else the heart attack I just had when i saw the message.

    What acronis did after the resize is remove the drive letter from the partition. the server did not see D: so it gave the above error. I did the following

    Booted into Directory services repair mode
    **THIS PASSWORD WAS SET WHEN YOU INSTALLED THE SYSTEM. IF YOU CHANGE YOUR ADMIN PASSWORD THIS DOES NOT CHANGE WITH IT. MAKE SURE YOU KNOW IT**

    Once in safe mode I went into disk management and there was the healthy partition. I right clicked it, assigned the D: drive letter to it and rebooted.

    everything came up ok.


    I'm not sure why acronis did not preserve the drive letter. I have used DD before and never had a problem. If anyone has any ideas post up but I'm mainly posting this so if someone else has this problem this might be useful


    thanks to the chat techs that tried to help.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Did you do the resize when booted to the DD CD?

    Which way did you resize the partition? Did you move the left edge, the right edge or both?
     
  3. nahmus

    nahmus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I booted from the DD cd. If i resize a C partition i usually do it in 3 steps. shrink target partition, create partition in new space, move space from that partition to the C: It seems safer then doing everything at once.

    I removed 20gb from the D: (from the right side) there were 100gb's free on the drive. I did not use the slider I used the arrow indicators underneath so i could get an even 20gb free. The resize went ok and finished without errors.

    the only thing that was different on this system was that the d: was a logical partition. I don't know if i have resized a logical partition in the past. Some of the programs were installed on the D: which is probably why it complained when the D: was missing.

    The 20gb of space was created after the partition. Next weekend I will do another full round of backups and try adding the space to the C:

    Hopefully it will go as smooth as the others have. Any ideas on why the drive letter was not carried over?
     
  4. nahmus

    nahmus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Mudcrab,
    Can you think of anything I can do different this weekend when I try to resize the C: drive? I'm going to add the 20 gig from the other partition. Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Is the drive layout something like this now?
    [C: Primary][D: Logical][20GB Unallocated]

    If so, I would proceed as follows:
    1. Create backup image of drive.
    2. Boot to DD CD and start DD in Manual Mode.
    3. Move the D: partition to the end of the drive. Apply the change.
    4. Boot into Windows and make sure D: is still assigned properly. If it isn't, fix it.
    5. Boot back to the DD CD and start DD in Manual Mode.
    6. Resize the C: partition from the right to use the 20GB of unallocated space.
     
  6. nahmus

    nahmus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    thats how the layout looks. Last time i did not move the D: ahead of time I just resized C: I will move it again. I always hate messing with the C: of servers.

    I will post up the results.
     
  7. nahmus

    nahmus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Mudcrab,
    i was not able to use the steps that you posted. when i went to move the partition D: so that the freespace was at the end of the C: i got an error that there was not enough space to move the partition. I did it the same way i did the other server. I turned the unallocated space into a partition then used the wizard option to resize and took space from the empty partition that I just created out of the unallocated space. that completed successfully. then i deleted what was left of the new partition (few mb's)

    On the reboot however the same error happened. the logical partition did not have a drive letter. It seems that DD has an issue with keeping drive letters on logical partition but not on primary partition. I just had to boot the server into directory services mode and assign the d: to the partition.

    on the whole the resizing worked.
     
  8. George_Rindov

    George_Rindov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    nahmus,

    I would like to thank you for this article. It is a shame for Micro$oft not to capture this simple error, and direct you towards Directory restore.

    In my case a second hard drive died in a domain controller and after I pulled it out got the same LSASS error. Just inserted a replacement hard drive, assigned letter D and all is up and running.

    Thank you!
    George



     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.