low disk space!!!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Griogair, Jan 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Griogair

    Griogair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    kilmarnock, scotland
    hello!!

    i hav recently been downloadin a lot of music an music production software....the only problem now is that i am getting reminders about low disk space...as expected,i click where it asks in the tray,and the disk clearup starts.....it seems to be stalling at the 3rd progress bar tho....i checked in the processes menu an it show that the cpu usage for the process is around 93 percent....but nothing is happening!!!

    does any1 have any ideaso_O

    cheers, Griogair
     
  2. Griogair

    Griogair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    kilmarnock, scotland
    sorry to ask again...but i have 230mb of disk space left and i cant get my disk to cleam itself up....does anyone have any sugestions at all please?

    thanks
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
  4. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi Griogair,

    This may help: Disk Cleanup Tool Stops Responding While Compressing Old Files. You should also keep in mind that you need least 15% free disk space to be able to defragment.

    Nick
     
  5. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    That is probbly why you can't do anything. Not enough space. You will need to delete some files.
     
  6. Griogair

    Griogair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    kilmarnock, scotland
    ehem!!

    im not saying im a complete ideot.....but say in theory i deleted volumecaches.reg before making a copy.....wot say would a person do to aquire a copy....o_O

    sorry!!

    Griogair!!
     
  7. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Copy and paste the following into Notepad and save it as volumecaches.reg:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\VolumeCaches\Compress old files]
    @="{B50F5260-0C21-11D2-AB56-00A0C9082678}"
    "Priority"=dword:0000012c


    Nick

    (Note that there needs to be a trailing blank line in .reg files. That means you have to press Enter twice after pasting into Notepad).
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2005
  8. Griogair

    Griogair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    kilmarnock, scotland
    2,026,600 cleared!!

    yas!!

    cheers guys!!
    that cclean worked well aswell....i only had 230mb and it brought it uoo to a whopping 534mb!!

    doesnt seem loads,but it was enough to stop ma comp going loopy when i did anything like open more than 1 ie window!!

    thanks a million!!

    Griogair!! :D
     
  9. Griogair

    Griogair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    kilmarnock, scotland
    oh!! sorry i meant to ask!!

    my comp came with its harddrive split into 3 drives for some reason.... bood,backup,and recovery.....c drive is the only one that seems to be going down...any way to eutalise the space on backup which it sitting with 12gb unused!! o_O

    griogair thanks
     
  10. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Why not move your downloads to the backup partition? That would be less risky than resizing or redistributing free space.

    Nick
     
  11. Griogair

    Griogair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    kilmarnock, scotland
    surely tho if i transfer a folder of music to backup it will just copy there and there will also still be a copy in c drive ??
     
  12. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    You should be able to delete the source folder/files once they have been copied.

    Nick
     
  13. Griogair

    Griogair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    kilmarnock, scotland
    worked a treat!! thanks!!...was just really frustrating when the laptop boasted 80gb harddrive and 60 of it was as good as useless!!

    now ill hav the chance to free up a bit of space for my next wee project!!!............hmmmmm.....cubase or Reason??!?!?!?

    cheers once again!!

    Griogair
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.