Lost Watch Activity Monitor

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v4 Beta Forum' started by MasterTB, Dec 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Look at the Screenshot: I haven't reinstalled yet, though restarting does not bring it back.
    On the main screen of ESS v4 beta under Protection Status, I lost the Watch Activity Monitor, it is gone since this morning start up.
    The machine booted normally (Vista Home Basic 32bit) but ESS is missing a component and there is no warning about that.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    strange it's here on Vista Ultimate Tooo_O
     

    Attached Files:

  3. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    I have filed a Customer Support request using ESS's integrated form.
    Lets wait and see what comes out.
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Same here . Perhaps it has been removed after an update ESET released
     
  5. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Yes, it could be BUT I have ESS installed also on a machine running Vista Ultimate 32 bits and the activity monitor is still there!!
    Both machines are fully updated so what could be the difference??
    Or is it just a big UI Bug??
     

    Attached Files:

  6. qzex

    qzex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Same here. I'm running XP SP3. I thought it was a result of trying to update while running on high CPU, but apparently not. Or maybe it is, if some people have it and others don't? (I also saw the part below and including "Username and password setup" on the home GUI screen.)
     
  7. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Hello:

    An update: I uninstalled the beta off my laptop, restarted, cleaned, restarted and installed it back again and it is still missing so... what is the reason for this I don't know.
    I hope the guys at Eset Support have a better answer.
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    To confirm, I don't have it anymore either. And it was there previously.
     
  9. viruscraft

    viruscraft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    114
    same here.
    Watch Activity disappears after a update.
    :(
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,790
    Location:
    Texas
    It's a beta and changes will take place along the way. Intended or not. :D Hang tight.
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    We are aware of this issue, it will be fixed in the next beta build.
     
  12. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    ETA??

    PD I know you probably don't know but... just out of curiosity :)
    Thanks.


    I´m updating to paste the answer from Eset support that confirms the bug:

    ~Private communications removed. Do not post communications without permission of both parties. - Ron~

    I just received the mail and thought it was worth to share.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 2, 2008
  13. qzex

    qzex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    If it disappears after an update then can't they put up another update? Why the next beta? I'm just wondering.
     
  14. wrathchild

    wrathchild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Neoplantesis
    Good question!:thumb:
     
  15. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It cannot be fixed with an automatic update because it requires an update of the whole program.
     
  16. qzex

    qzex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Then how did it appear, for everyone, at the same time, after a certain update?

    (I thought there were component/program modules updates, too.)
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It wasn't caused by an update at all, it has something to do with timing.
     
  18. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    it's back after update 3730
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009
  19. qzex

    qzex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Did that have to do with timing, too? :p

    It might have been my imagination, but the update seemed to have taken longer than usual.
     
  20. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    no i did not do with timingo_O
    update 3730 and it's back:argh:
     
  21. viruscraft

    viruscraft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    114
    yeah,my Watch Activity Monitor comes back with update 3730 as well.
    But my question is:Will it disappear again later?
     
  22. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    ...Or will this be fixed in the next Beta?
     
  23. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Why care if it will be fixed in the next BETA build or if it will disappear again when the product you are using now is not final . Don't forget this is a BETA and it is supposed to have bugs and problems while you are supposed to find/report them , not worry about them

    ESET are aware of the issue

    and as they said it is going to be fixed
     
  24. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    Someone lied us :p

    Good to see it's back :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.