Lost Hard Drive Space using True Image 8

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Devlin33, Dec 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Devlin33

    Devlin33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Hey guys

    I have been using true image 8 for over a year now and i have noticed a problem on two of my machines that i am hoping you might be able to help me with.

    Yesterday i restored an image and then manually updated it with the new software i had installed from the previous image. So then i created a new image and stored it on my local hard drive with the intention of moving it to my external hard drive when it was done. The image size was about 9 gig, so after i moved the image across my local hard drive reported that the 9 gig was still there and i couldnt get it back. I tried many hard disk softwares and they couldnt restore the lost 9 gig.

    So i was hoping if anyone had a soloution to my problem. I had a simalar problem on another machine where i would create an ISO image which was 4.7 gig onto the local hard drive, burn it and then delete it but i wouldnt get the 4.7 gig back.

    If anyone has a soloution to my problem it will be much appreicated.

    Thanks
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Devlin33

    Welcome to Wilders and Acronis Forums.

    No it is not because of Ti8, it is Windows Explorer that is the cause in some way, have you tried Windows Disk Cleanup, Start>All Programs>Accessories>System Tools>Disk Cleanup, also you may want to try this very good little cleanup App:- CCleaner, very handy to have.

    As above, also did you remember to empty the Recycle Bin.


    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. txtr8r

    txtr8r Guest

    i have the same problem. maybe.... here is the deal had a 20gb hdd created an image stored it on another hdd(this is a laptop w/no cd rom drive) hooked up the new 80gb hdd and restored.. the 80gb only showed 20gb after but when i looked at it w/pm it showed the rest as unallocated...is there a way to fix this w/o purchasing pm? i know ghost has a switch but what is the switch for acronis?
     
  4. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, txtr8r

    I Think your is not the same problem, you have unallocated disk space left.

    [where as Devlin33 is saying that the disk is showing used disk space where the is no file or data using the space, well I think thats what he ment?]

    You can either use Windows's DISKPART to enlarge your Partition:-

    To make your Unallocated space the full Partition or HDD size using the DiskPart command.

    If you do not not know, you will find it in the Disk Management help file
    My Computer>Manage>Help>Help Topics>Disk Management>Concepts>Using Disk Management>Managing disks and volumes from the command line.

    No software needed.

    Or just make a new Partition next to the C:/ 20gb to make a D:/ Partition [D:/ is best IMO]

    My Computer>Manage>Disk Management>clink the Unallocated space, and make your Partition.

    No software needed.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  5. Devlin33

    Devlin33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Hello Quest

    I have tried all the things you have mentioned before posting and they all come to the same result....nothing. Thanks for the quick reply though. If anyone else have some suggestions i would love to hear them becuase i still belive it is a TI8 issue.

    Thanks
     
  6. txtr8r

    txtr8r Guest

    that worked good thank you
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Devlin33

    It is Explorer that does the moving, copying, pasting or deleting of files and folders.

    Ti8 creates and restores Images, what happen to the space used by the Image is then in the hand of Explorer.

    Some will blame Ti with for a Corrupt file after they move it with explorer, well Ti has no control over the move so the blame is Explorers [or hardware] but sure not Ti's.

    The only things I can think of is that you run a full check disk on all you Partitions. [unless tried all ready]

    The other is to get a tool to clean your "free space". [i.e. Eraser]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, txtr8r

    Your most welcome.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Devlin33,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please check each partition of your hard drive by Windows utility:

    - For Windows 9x please use Windows menu Start\Run
    then enter the command "scandskw" and test all drives;

    - For Windows XP please use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command
    "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drive.

    Please note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition.

    If that will not recover the "lost" 9 GB then please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also make a screen shot of Windows Disk Management by following Start -> Control Panel -> Performance and Maintenance -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach the collected screen shot and report.txt file to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will certainly try to help you.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.