Lost boot information after using partitionmagic 2003

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by overthere, Feb 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. overthere

    overthere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hi
    I've managed to make a stupid mistake when using Acronis PartitonExpert 2003 any ideas on how to fix much appreciated! see below.
    Thanks
    Andy


    Problem:
    System hard drive won't boot but does contain uncorrupt partitions

    Cause of problem:

    Had working system and attempted to partition new backup drive. I failed to notice that as well as the 2 logical partitions I wanted to create PartitonExpert 2003 created a small additional active partition.

    Troubleshooting to date:
    System would boot only when external drive was powerd up
    Used partitionmagic to wipe active partition - no change
    Used truimage to install old backup image - no change
    Boot from Acronis truimage cd and just bypass to windows - works with external drive off

    Conclusion

    I've somehow managed to wipe whatever the relevant boot info is off the drive but I don't know how to get it back


    System:
    Windows XP
    1x Sata II 250Gb hard drive - internal - SATA II port on motherboard
    1x SATA II 250Gb hard drve - external in ICYbox with SATA connection- SATA I port on motherboard
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Andy,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    Please boot up from the Windows Bootable CD, then go to the Recovery Console (the first Repair option you come to).

    From the command prompt please type:

    FIXMBR C:
    FIXBOOT C:
    COPY CDDrive:\I386\NTLDR C:\
    COPY CDDrive:\I386|NTDETECT.COM C:\
    BOOTCFG /rebuild

    After that, please reboot your computer.

    If this does not help then please create Acronis Report in the way described below:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach the collected report.txt file to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  3. overthere

    overthere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the prompt help the rebuild of the boot sector has fixed the problem.
    Regards
    Andy
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Andy,

    I'm glad to hear that your issue has been solved.

    If you have any further questions please feel free to ask.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.