Lost BIOS Password

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by thenenea, Jun 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thenenea

    thenenea Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Sorry to bother you guys about this but here's my problem:
    I have four old Tulip laptops at my firm (Motion Line 5/120) that have Phoenix made BIOS’s. Now, I have to get through the passwords that the former IT guy put on them (both on the boot sequence and the BIOS setup). Bypassing any of the passwords would be equally good. I don't want to open them in order to remove the battery so the universal password seems to be the only viable solution. But I failed to find any useful passwords ("phoenix", "PHOENIX" and "CMOS" don't work). Or maybe some of you could tell me where I could find a detailed disassembly manual in electronic format? Cause the manuals for all the laptops have disappeared ( a lot of things disappeared with that guy, including himself. He left for Canada last year, never to be heard again...).
     
  2. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Why don't you try contacting the BIOS manufacturers' technical support hotline, maybe they can assist you. ;)
     
  3. thenenea

    thenenea Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    I don't think they have a hotline in Romania. :(
     
  4. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Guess you have to get new computers, or rip that BIOS out of the laptops.
    If u lose your BIOS password, I would say that your BIOS is rendered useless, because without the password, you cannot access the BIOS nor can you even touch it.
    The best solution is: DON'T set a BIOS password. :D
     
  5. thenenea

    thenenea Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    It wasn't me who set them. And it's impossible to contact the guy who did. Also new laptops would be the normal way to do it if only my boss wasn't such a cheap @$$! :((
     
  6. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, thenenea

    You do not have to take out the Batties.

    Please make a note of your BIOS setting before do anything.

    You can just reset the reset Jumper. [which will clear the BIOS]

    Or you can have a read here:- How to Bypass BIOS Passwords

    Good luck to you. [You do not need luck a it is easy :D]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  7. thenenea

    thenenea Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    The problem is I disassambled aprox 80% of one of the laptops and still haven't found the battery. The last 20% percent is right now quite a mystery because it's a clamp like metal sheet that it's firmly fixed on the base with no apparent knob or any other visible means (strange thing is I have access to all the major components but not the battery). As for the jumper, the only thing that I found was a very small switch, which I hesitate to temper with because of the absence of the manual. I tried to find the manual on the Internet but no luck so far... :(
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, thenenea

    The jumper\dipswitch is best to reset.

    Have you tried these passwords.

    Try the first two if neither work reboot and try the other two.

    phoenix, PHOENIX, CMOS, BIOS.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  10. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, thenenea

    Here is a Link to Tulip Computers drivers and manuals:- Tulip Computers

    Hope you find what you wont.

    Take care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  11. thenenea

    thenenea Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Sorry guys, tried those passwords already. Probably the laptop producer modified the BIOS so it won't accept the backdoor Phoenix passwd. And I can't use a passwd cracker because I don't have the user password so I cannot boot. As for the manuals I've only found manuals for their latest models.
     
  12. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, thenenea

    Have you tried to email them to see if they have a copy of your Motion Line 5/120 Manual.

    Tulip:- Contact Us

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  13. phatkid77

    phatkid77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    107
    quick qo_O

    how do you get in your BIOS?

    thanks
     
  14. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, phatkid77

    Press Delete key at Post.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  15. phatkid77

    phatkid77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    107
    thanks!!...got in looked around, damn no magic button to make CPU faster

    pentium 4
    2.0ghz
    system bus 400mhzo_O
    mem. 266mhzo_O
     
  16. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, phatkid77

    Nooooooooo you have to tweak the settings.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  17. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    If the laptops try to boot of a floppy, which is very much standard settings for ALL PC's, then you can use "Kill CMOS" to break the BIOS password.

    Cheers :D
     
  18. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Blackspear

    Good Idea but if you are like me that is the first the I change in the BIOS,
    to stop any tampering with the MB and OS. [I set first boot device HDD0]

    But worth a try.

    The simplest is to reset the reset jumper usualie next or near the battery.

    Take Care.
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  19. thenenea

    thenenea Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    It doesn't boot from floppy, not even if I remove the hdd.
    I cannot access the reset CMOS jumper as I cannot access the battery area ( it is enclosed in a metal, clamp-like box designed probably for protecting the BIOS from tampering - and I couldn't find a way to open it without destroing what's inside ).
    I wrote an E-mail to Tulip Support but so far no answer.
     
  20. yep

    yep Guest

  21. thenenea

    thenenea Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Thank you all guys. I've managed to "force" the laptops to boot from FDD and then hacked the BIOS. Thank you for your suport and advice.

    P.S.: The Tulip support team finally sent me a reply: "You need to remove the BIOS battery." Doh!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.