Lost Admin access due to PIN->password reset for no apparent reason

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Spiritos, Jul 16, 2016.

1. Spiritos

Spiritos Registered Member

First of all I feel I should apologize as I feel I'm a little out of place and definitely out of my depth on this forum. I've mostly been a lurker and as it seems Windows is (understandably) not a popular topic here. However I've been troubleshooting a problem for almost 72 consecutive hours (I'm an insomniac) and still am at lost and would humbly like to appeal to the apparent expertise on this forum.

In short: Since wednesday morning (after "patch tuesday"....) I suddenly couldn't log into my MS10 Home (64x) OS with my (only) local Admin account. Thing is I've been using PIN-access for close to 2 years and now I suddenly had to enter a password (which I obviously forgot) and have no option to choose for PIN access.

I've tried numerous well-known options and then some more and finally managed to gain access to the "hidden" meta-Admin account through a regedit (HKLM \ Admin \ SAM \ Domains \ Account \ Users \ 000001F4 and the value F, Row 11, 0038 to put 10), created a new Admin account and de-activated the meta-Admin again with cmd: net user Administrator /active: no so now I do have access to the OS on GUI level.