Losing settings every v4 update

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by funkydude, Apr 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Why are all profiles in the on-demand computer scan always reset to default when i upgrade to a newer v4 build?
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Re: Loosing settings every v4 update

    bump.
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Re: Loosing settings every v4 update

    bump.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Re: Loosing settings every v4 update

    Which settings are not transferred to the newer build? Couldn't it be that you edited settings for the in-depth scan profile?
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Re: Loosing settings every v4 update


    Very interesting . I just noticed it happens here , too . Good job in finding this bug.

    The on-demand scanner settings (what I change only is to enable detection for potentially unsafe applications) . I checked on my personal Vista computer with SP1 (with Home edition) and also remotely logged on in a few servers I upgraded a few days ago with the new build.
     
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Re: Loosing settings every v4 update

    This, I also want to log all objects for context menu scans, and all options in the on-demand scan profiles are always reset to default.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Re: Loosing settings every v4 update

    Just to make sure, are you saying that you edited the Smart scan profile or created your own that you subsequently tweaked?
     
  8. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Re: Loosing settings every v4 update

    I have never created my own, I just tweaked current ones, all of them.
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Update on the issue?
     
  10. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Still not fixed in .437

    Having to re-configure these profiles on every PC is a PITA.

    Will it be fixed next release?
     
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    It's already in the list of issues where it's pending for being checked by the developers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.