Looking to the Future (for Acronis products) with Windows 7

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jsquareg, Jul 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jsquareg

    jsquareg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    I know it is a few months off but I am looking towards using some version of TI under Windows 7 when the official version is released. I am currently trying the Release Candidate and using TI 2009's boot disk.

    Any one here have an idea of Acronis' plan to support Windows 7?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Gondalf

    Gondalf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Re: Looking to the Future with Windows 7

    Acronis True Image 11 Home is working well with Win 7 RC1 if you install the programm in visa-compatability-mode.
    my version is ATI home 11.0 build 8.010
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2009
  3. jsquareg

    jsquareg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Re: Looking to the Future with Windows 7

    Interesting! I will have to see if I can find my old copy TI 11.
    I liked it better than 2009 anyway :)
     
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    As this thread is in the Acronis Support Forums and is specifically about the support of Acronis products on Windows 7, a post and reply that were about general OS security in Windows 7 have been moved to their own thread in an appropriate forum section:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=249487
     
  5. pbcopter

    pbcopter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I have been using True Image Home 2009 for some time now in Windows 7 RC and it has worked well with no problems yet that I can see.
     
  6. jsquareg

    jsquareg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Very good. Thanks for letting me know. My concern is that if I should want to remove or reinstall 2009 will the Acronis Clean Up program work under Win 7. Tried to run it and got a message saying wrong Windows Version or something like that. Perhaps there will be a new clean up tool for Win 7.

    If not, no big deal. Will just stick with TI 11 for now.

    Thanks again.
     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    The Clean Up utility will need to be updated to 'know' about TI 2010, so I imagine this will become W7 compatible when that happens.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image Home 2009

    At the moment, the following Acronis products can be installed on Windows 7:

    • Acronis True Image Home 2010 Beta
    • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Family

    However, the correct operation is not guaranteed since Windows 7 is still in the development stage. We are planning to release updates for our current products to fully support Microsoft Windows 7 as it becomes available.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  9. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    And will the 2010 version support ext4 file systems for Linux?
     
  10. JackTI

    JackTI Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Try Discwizard from Seagate / Acronis

    I've found that Seagates free DISCWIZARD (based on Acronis TI)
    seems to work fine with Windows 7.
    It installs, backs up and mounts / browses the images.
    Have not tried a bare metal restore.

    I prefer its much smaller / cleaner install than TI Home 2009,
    despite owning TI 2009, all I use is Discwizard.

    It allows backup to standard TI tib files, and disc cloning.
    Note its based on TI 10 so it can not read TI 2009 backups,
    but TI 2009 can read Discwizard backups.

    All Discwizard is missing that I would want
    is incremental backup but that is not much of an issue here.
    The other features of TI Home 2009 I did not use or even want installed.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2009
  11. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Re: Try Discwizard from Seagate / Acronis

    My recollection is tat the Duisk Wizard was missing a few other things, cannot recall right now.
     
  12. JackTI

    JackTI Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Re: Try Discwizard from Seagate / Acronis

    Indeed DiskWizard only has the core backup, browse/mount, restore, and clone features, in a easy to use interface.
    That's why I like it. A small, clean install that does only what I need, and seems to work fine with Windows 7.

    No try before you buy, folder backup, secure zone, scheduling and so on.
    I didn't use those or really even want them installed given the overhead and issues many reported.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.