looking for a popup blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ice60, Aug 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ice60

    ice60 Guest

    do you know a good NEWBIE friendly popup blocker i can install? thanks
     
  2. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    Are you using Firefox, or IE?

    I use just Firefox with Adblock and I get no pop-ups at all.
     
  3. Ailric

    Ailric Guest

  4. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Before SP2 and when I used IE, this was the easiest and best I could find on the net: http://www.bayden.com/popper

    4 button control, how easy is that? ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ice60

    ice60 Guest

    hi, it's not for me, but a friend, it's for IE - his daughters won't use firefox and it's a windows 2000. i'll have alook at your links, thank you.
     
  6. Ailric

    Ailric Guest

  7. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
  8. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I concur. I never had a popup since I'm using Firefox + Adblock and Firefox does alot more than that.
    I consider popup blockers as useless as cookie blockers.
     
  10. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    A friend of mine grounded his daughter for a week because she used IE instead of Firefox, after he told her never to use IE. He was sick of always cleaning crap from the system and laid down the rules. NO MORE IE!

    Rock on dad!
     
  11. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    IF you used IE in the old days, you would think twice about that statement :D
     
  12. hadi

    hadi Guest

    I'm using IE since (well almost) day 1. I use adaware,spybot,MSAS,ewido on daily basis and the come clean. I cant kick it out coz other browsers wont display my language the way it should look and spell.
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I concur on that too :D
    I'm just writing my opinion, who cares about my opinion anyway, in the end users do what they want.
     
  14. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    At least you have a GOOD REASON to use MSIE.
    Thanks for mentioning it, I will remember that one.
     
  15. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    For a newbie, nothing like Google Toolbar.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.