Looking for a Kerio Replacement

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by wildermark, Nov 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wildermark

    wildermark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    I have used Kerio for a long time... I recently uninstalled it due to it's nagging and some bug issues was getting with the new version. I tried out a few different softwares, including Comodo. Comodo seems to be the best replacement I have found so far, but I really do not feel safe with it. I have witnessed Comodo allowing programs to use my connection without it prompting and I have double checked my configuration to ensure that I have no settings that would allow such. I am looking for a solid replacement for Kerio that will provide me with bi-directional protection and if possible application execution protection. I am looking for a free solution.
     
  2. cold628

    cold628 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    if u want a free firewall,jetico 1.0 is the best choose.
    if u want a powerful fw, ZA pro maybe the better.

    vsmon.exe is the ZA main program.
    when donwload speed is 100k bytes/s, the cpu usage is about 4%-9%, not making the foregroud program slow.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ZA.PNG
      ZA.PNG
      File size:
      74.7 KB
      Views:
      4
  3. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
  4. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    Comodo seems to be the best replacement I have found so far, but I really do not feel safe with it. I have witnessed Comodo allowing programs to use my connection without it prompting and I have double checked my configuration to ensure that I have no settings that would allow such. I



    I am not 100% sure but I have the feeling you did an "automatic" installation, scanned for "known" applications...Comodo has a white list..That is..comodo thinks those apps, in its white list, are safe and when they try to connect to the net it wont give you no prompt..it will let them thru and report nothing.

    What you could do is launch comodo, hit security->advanced->miscellaneous and untick "Do not show any alerts for the applications certified by Comodo"..

    That way even if any of the apps trying to connect are certified by Comodo you will get a popup.You can click allow/deny and tick "remember".

    If I am wrong some Comodo users will sure jump in, tell me off and help you out:D
     
  5. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,184
    I think you are not a kerio 2.1.5 user?

    We don't want to change to any other firewall. With usually less than 5 MB memory usage and zero CPU noticeable in Task Manager.
    We might add hips programs etc, but being very satisfied with packet filtering of kerio as a basic firewall. Some of us may have tried like me other firewalls, but ending back to oldie good kerio.

    Kerio 4 is a totally different thing and i can understand if wanting to change away from it.
     
  6. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    Jarmo,

    I was responding to Wildermark.He said he was having problems with Comodo so I quoted him,sorry forgot the " ",and told him what in my opinion was his problem with comodo-I was not suggesting he or you switch to comodo or any other firewall.
     
  7. wildermark

    wildermark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    I have always been a major hater of ZA... I have many many reasons from past knowledge of it to just hate it. I place products like ZA in the same category as McAfee and Symantec. I did try Jetico also, but it felt like one of the most unsafe firewalls; maybe this was because it seemed to lack good configuration ability. Kerio 2 is really old now and with some major exploits, that's just insane. yeah, you were right about the safe application thing... *bangs head*
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2006
  8. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,184
    kerio 2.1.5 does still packet filtering same as it always did. You are propably thinking some newer firewalls with added features that need updating.

    And sunbelt Kerio sure needs updates, cause it never will be finished and working fine I guess :p
    Always just a beta, if even that, lol.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2006
  9. wildermark

    wildermark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    Kerio Personal Firewall Local Denial Of Service Vulnerability
    2004-12-08
    http://www.securityfocus.com/bid/11859

    Kerio Personal Firewall Local Privilege Escalation Vulnerability
    2004-01-29
    http://www.securityfocus.com/bid/9525

    .. but yeah, I've seen Sunbelt Kerio 4 just crash out of nowhere...
     
  10. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,184
    There is that Volker Birk in some newsgroup firewall forum.
    Totally useless to post there any, cause always spam by him. In some ways i agree with the moron.

    I would use only SP2 firewall though if there were not simple no problem filtering firewalls like Kerio 2.1.5 or Sygate 5.5. Sygate has a local proxy issue though with loopback address.

    The whole firewall thing has become bloated and all have this or that problem.

    Or just clumsy to use like Comodo.
    I could not get my netphone working, sure it needed incoming udp ports and also a separate DNS rules. All so easy with kerio 2.1.5.
    Then I wanted to change my IP by MAC address change. Was propably some network rule needed, but forum sucked and I was no more interested then. Needed a reboot always to do that, heh. One needs flexibility and usability from a firewall. Not a straight jacket. If there had been a ruleset to save and not made into windows registry, I would have kept it longer and investigated more.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2006
  11. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I am a little surprised by this satement, packet filtering within Jetico is down to flag level.
     
  12. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Zone Alarm, Comodo, and Kerio are among the major free firewalls available. I thought I read somewhere that the new version of Jetico will no longer be free. The remaining free programs have less number of users.

    http://www.matousec.com/projects/windows-personal-firewall-analysis/links.php

    Ashampoo has a new free firewall program, however, testing of it did not produce good results.
     
  13. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    To my undertanding, Jetico V2 will require license. But to be honest, as of now, I cannot see why anyone, who is using Jetico would want, or need to change/upgrade to V2 of Jetico.

    I still do not like (personally) any firewall with hard_coded rules (just one of those things with me), and the free version allows too much out, (any firewall should only allow out/in what the user specifies)
     
  14. charincol

    charincol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    Maybe it was how the way too simplistic up/down arrow icon felt and the way that specific rules are made on the fly, but Jetico 1.0 is hard to beat.
     
  15. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    For a long time i use Kaspersky Internet Security that includes AntiHacker. I'm very satisfied , i think that Antihacker is among the best firewalls.
     
  16. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    I think Kerio 2.1.5 when behind a Hardware Firewall it is just grand. I would not change under those circumstances unless there was a damn good reason too. Particularlly on a resource challenged machine. ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2006
  17. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Portugal
    Really? What about a BSOD at [every] boot?
     
  18. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I believe that qualifies as a damn good reason. ;)
     
  19. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    Regarding the exploits listed for Kerio 2.1.5:
    from http://www.securityfocus.com/bid/11859
    This is not a remotely usable exploit. The attacker must be local, aka on your keyboard or network.
    from http://www.securityfocus.com/bid/9525
    see http://www.tuneld.com/_images/other/kpf_system_privileges.png
    Another local vulnerability, not remotely exploitable.
    Regarding the screenshots shown on the lower half of that link, setting a password for Kerio administration makes those screens inaccessible to another user.
    These "vulnerabilities" are only a problem if the attacker in on your network or in your own home. They aren't exploitable from the net. A separate HIPS also neutralizes the "exploits" completely.
    Rick
     
  20. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Took the words right out of my mouth...:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.