Longtime 2.7 User: Fear Regarding Upgrade

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Chamlin, Aug 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Hi guys, been trolling around looking at v3 and v4 posts and am a bit intimidated about upgrading. Seeing some of the horror stories...anything short of a "smooth sailing" upgrade would be overwhelming given what's on my plate right now. And yet, it seems like a good idea. So...........

    My System:
    Windows XP SP2
    Online Armor (Paid version)
    SpySweeper v5.x
    NOD32 v2.7 (I've only two or three times in years gotten a virus warning)
    FDISR v3.21 Build 205

    1. Which Eset AV version is most stable?
    2. What are the advantages / downsides of each?
    3. Any conflict with the above?
    4. I remember years ago using Blackspear's "template" to configure NOD32 which was imperative for me (otherwise clueless). Is there one for versions 3 & 4?
    5. My subscription is valid thru 9/11/09. Does one simply upgrade and the ESET system knows I'm registered?
    6. Do I uninstall NOD32 first? Or not?

    Thanks for your guidance all.
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    1. Version 4.0.437.0 is very stable.
    2. Version 4 has better detection and cleaning than version 2.
    3. No conflicts I am aware of.
    4. Version 4 offers excellent protection with default settings.
    Blackspear has a tutorial for version 3 which can be used for version 4.
    See this thread:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=197509
    5. Your current license (username/password) can be used for version 2, 3, or 4.
    6. Uninstall version 2 and remove any
    folders titled 'Eset' in Program Files and Documents and Settings prior
    to installing version 4.
     
  3. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Thanks...Thankful. ;)

    What can I expect in terms of a difference in processing load on my system from v2.7 to v4.0.437.0?

    (My PC is a duo core 2.66GHz, 2GB RAM.)
     
  4. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    I'm running the same specs and have no problems.
     
  5. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    And are Blackspear's settings, which I'm happy to see are also importable, still considered superior to the default settings? (Blackspear, no offense intended, just trying to learn.:)) Would a general user notice a functional difference?
     
  6. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello,

    As per Marcos in this thread

    "Blackspear's settings are not recommended. Default settings provide best balance between protection and performance."

    BFG
     
  7. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I have similar hardware and I had NOD32 v3 for couple of years running together with Spy Sweeper. Since upgrading to V4, I gave up on Spy Sweeper, because of many problems (frozen PC, slow surfing, Shut down problems, etc). I've tried many times here on this forum, than direct with Webroot to solve my issues with Spy Sweeper, but I wasn't happy. In the end I called ESET and they assure me that the antispyware module from NOD32 v4 will be enough and using an other antispyware that overlaps with NOD, could slow down the system without having any extra protection.
    So right now NOD32 v4 + XP Firewall on XP Pro SP3 are my fighters.
    For "wild sites" and testings, I use Virtual PC with Windows7, MSE Beta and Deep Freeze.
    Good Luck with v4 transition. I think you will like it.

    Jedi_m
     
  8. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    BFG, thanks for that. Sure makes things simpler.

    jedi m, which version of SpySweeper were you having conflicts with?

    Everyone:
    Question 1: Is it the consensus view that NOD32 v4 is sufficient to no longer use an antispyware program?

    Question 2: Is anyone successfully using v4 with v5.x SpySweeper?

    Question 3: If using an antispyware program is still advised, which, if any plays best with NOD32 v4? (I'm also using Online Armor paid version).
     
  9. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    I occasionally run SuperAntispyware (Free) and MalwareBytes (Free) on demand in addition to running NOD32 realtime. I suspect many forum members do the same.
     
  10. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    The version with minimum problems was v5.5.7.124. After this version the problems starts.
     
  11. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    You mean v6?
     
  12. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    With V6 I had a Splash screen at Shut Down (Spy Sweeper....ending program), but after v5.5.7.124 I thing was an other version (forgat the number) before v6.
    Yes, I just checked my issues with Webroot and the version was 5.8
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.