long time thinkpad user needs advice on new purchase

Discussion in 'hardware' started by mattdocs12345, Apr 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattdocs12345

mattdocs12345 Registered Member

I've been using thinkpads for about 10 years now. I am looking for a replacement for my x120e. My price range is up to $700 with taxes and shipping but hopefully less.

I went to lenovo outlet and found basically 2 models:
    1) Thinkpad T420 with TN screen 1600x900 resolution for ~$600
    2) Thinkpad Twist with IPS screen for ~$560
    For me screen quality and built quality are the two most important factors. I am really thorn. T420 has superior build quality and old style keyboard which is a huge plus for me. However its biggest drawback is the LCD with poor viewing angles and poor contrasts. Something that I can't stand in any laptop.
    On the other hand Thinkpad Twist has IPS, amazing screen comparable to an iPAD quality but it's RAM is only 4GB and it's soldered to the motherboard which means I won't ever be able to increase it.

Do you guys think that 4GB will suffice for windows 8.1 and 9? I am planning on using this machine for quite awhile.

2. Bill_Bright

Bill_Bright Registered Member

That's the $million question. Suffice? That is highly subjective and something only you can really answer. Will Windows 8 and future versions run in 4Gb? Sure (assuming future versions are compatible with the hardware). But to me, "suffice" is synonymous with "adequate". Do you want to "settle" for adequate? "Adequate" is often fine for short periods, but can get old quick, after extended periods of use.

Sadly, you failed to say for what. If using this machine to check email, Facebook, and watch an occasional video, then adequate is all you need. The problem with adequate today (with no path for upgrades) is it is a gamble that it will be adequate a couple years down the road when our needs may be different.

3. NGRhodes

NGRhodes Registered Member