logitech 3000 pro webcam non bloated vista drivers

Discussion in 'hardware' started by lodore, Feb 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hello,
    i have a lego webcam which is based on logitech 3000 pro webcam.
    it wont plug and play install on vista.
    these drivers work but everytime i turn on the computer i get a logitech something has crashed and its really annoying. for now ive retored an image to before it happerned.
    can anyone find the actual download link for this? link it says you can download driver14302.zip but cant find a download button on the page that works.
    all i want to do is get the webcam working with msn messenger without all the bloat and crash file with the drivers i got earlier.
    lodore
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    it looks like you have to download their utility to get the driver
     

    Attached Files:

  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    once i have rebooted and try to lanch it it tells me it has known compatibility issues with vista.
    back to square one.
    thanks for trying
    it was just the driver with no bloat thou.
    if you can find another non bloated vista compatible version then please link.
    lodore
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    The Logitech website says your webcam (QuickCam® Pro 3000) will not work with Vista.
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    oh geez what am i ment to do?
    i got it to work with the other drivers its just half of it crashes during startup
    the webcam did work with messenger thou. so for now all i can do is install the drivers reboot use the webcam then restore image to get rid of the crash message.
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Well (as a business) Logitech wants you to buy their newer webcams :p

    As for the crashes, can you remove the software from starting (on startup)? You only need the driver right?
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    ive just found it has a custom installer.
    so ill just install the drivers.
    see if that works.
    only one crrash on startup maybe able to live with that.
    i will restore image tomorrow and just do a custom install with the first installer i found that works. only thing that dont work is the mic but ive got a phone anyway.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
  10. Abeltje

    Abeltje Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I used to have a Logitech webcam which was not officially supported for Vista, but the XP drivers work just well. Simply extract all files from the setup to a directory (I think you can do this with winrar), and when you want to install the driver for the webcam point to that directory.

    Now I have a newer webcam with official Vista support. With the latest logitech software you can choose custom install and then "drivers only", saves you all the bloat.
     
  11. trodas

    trodas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Well, I want to have a VERY basic version (absolutely nothing unnecessary) of the drivers for my Logitech QuickCam Pro 3000, so I Google point me there...

    I used 7zip, works well :D

    But inside the qc848enu directory, there are just another 4 directories - AppInst, Drivers, WMF8 and WMF9 (and setup.exe) ...
    The Drivers directory still have 27MB... WTF!

    Another point is, that one can't simply point the setup when it detect new HW into this directory alone - I think?

    Inside Drivers dir are Bin (10MB), WinAll (1.5MB) and WinNew (16MB).
    Only the WinAll size seems reasonable (eh) for drivers only.
    Inside them is a XPRS directory and finally a inf file - lvXPRSv.inf :D

    One of the PIDs seems to match the Logitech QuickCam Pro 3000:
    Code:
    [PID_08B0]
    10,Twain_32\QuickCam\lvWIAext.dll
    ( http://www.quickcamteam.net/hcl/linux/logitech-webcams )

    So, you mean this directory? I just better ask twice, to make sure...

    I certainly do NOT want the Logitech bloatware and apps in my system again, just drivers. I still end up using Skype with this cam, so... And for the advanced options are better programs there:
    http://www.burri-web.org/bm98/soft/wcrmac/index.htm
    http://www.burri-web.org/bm98/soft/wcctrl/index.htm
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.