Locks at "Loading, please wait."

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jonnyGURU, Aug 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jonnyGURU

    jonnyGURU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Motherboard: Asus K8S-MX

    Socket 754 w/ SiS 760GX chipset. On board SATA RAID (SiS based too.)

    CPU is a Sempron 32-bit 2800+.

    I boot off of the FULL CD, latest version (build 903) It shows "Starting Acronis Loader," then splash screen then locks at "Loading, please wait." CD stops spinning. Hard lock. Even CTRL ALT DEL doesn't work.

    Did F11, took out "quiet."

    Stops after it detects SiS 5513 controller and SATA drives. Does partition check and finds "unknown partition type" (of course, the drives are blank) and then hangs at:

    $ /bin/insmod/ ide-detect
    Using /lib/modules/ide-detect.o

    I've broken the array and tried a single drive. Same thing.

    I tried again on A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT MACHINE with the same parts. Same thing.

    I tried "acpi=off noapic" Same thing.

    My Acronis worked to back the image off of a Barton based board with a VIA chipset, so I'm familiar with how True Image SHOULD work and know that my boot disk is good.

    HELP!!!!!!
     
  2. jonnyGURU

    jonnyGURU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Ok...

    I got past it by putting in "ide-detect=off."

    Then I typed "exit" and I was in the GUI.

    Now I'm stuck AGAIN.

    There's no "Computers Near Me" option.

    If I type in \\source\c$ like I normally do when I'm recovering from a network source, I get nothing (typically a login pops up.)

    I can't put my image on an PATA drive because I can't scan both PATA and SATA controllers!

    So when's the next update or is there a money back guarantee? ;)
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jonnyGURU,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also do the following:

    - Boot from Acronis True Image 8.0 (build 903) Bootable Rescue CD and press F11 key when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears;

    - After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word, click on the OK button and wait for # prompt to appear. Please insert a diskette in a floppy disk drive.

    - Issue the following commands:

    asamba dhcp -n
    asamba masters

    - Write down the output after each of the commands or use a digital camera to take a
    shots of the output;

    - Issue the following commands:

    cd tmp
    mkdir mntdir
    mount /devfs/floppy/0 mntdir
    cat /proc/net/dev > mntdir/net.txt
    umount mntdir

    - Collect the net.txt file from the diskette.

    Send all the collected files and information to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Please also clarify what exactly do you mean when saying that you "...can't scan both PATA and SATA controllers..."

    You can read about Acronis refund policy here.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  4. jonnyGURU

    jonnyGURU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Will do when Im in front of it again. So you all DO have native drivers for the onboard NIC for SiS 760GX chipsets?

    I'm over that problem. The TI8 locked when both the PATA and SATA controllers were both enabled. Disable one or the other or have Acronis not scan the bus for one or the other and TI8 quit locking up. Not an issue since I have no desire to copy from SATA to PATA device or vise versa.

    Thank YOU! :)
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jonnyGURU,

    Please contact us via e-mail in the way I have described above. We will investigate the problem and provide you with the answers to your specific questions.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  6. jonnyGURU

    jonnyGURU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Ok...

    Pressed F11, removed "quiet" and typed in "ide-detect=off" (this is the ONLY way I can get the PC to not hang.)

    At the # prompt, I typed:

    "asamba dhcp -n"

    It responded with: "info, udhcp client (v) started", "error, SIOCGIFINDEX failed!: Unknown error 19"

    I then typed in:

    "asamba masters"

    I was simply greeted with another # prompt. The net.txt file is on it's way. Thank you.
     
  7. jonnyGURU

    jonnyGURU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Update: I installed an AOpen NIC (Realtek chipset?) and I was able to browse the network. So the problem seems to be a lack of native support for the SiS Chipset's on board NIC.

    Unfortunately, I have ten machines to clone, so using a PCI NIC isn't a good option. :(
     
  8. jonnyGURU

    jonnyGURU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Even with the PATA controller disabled and the PCI NIC, my restored image is useless. It boots to a black screen.

    :(

    So my alternate solution isn't such a good solution.

    I'm going to try the new 937 build as per Acronis Support. WISH ME LUCK!!! :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.