Locked down IE still not as good as Firefox?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by prr, Jun 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prr

prr Registered Member

I have been using the Mozilla suite and Firefox browsers for a good 2 years or so now, and the amount of spyware/adware on my computer has fallen drastically, to pretty much nil. I do have one question. I keep hearing on forums that if you properly lock down IE (use an AV, MS antispyware, and perhaps even Spyware Blaster), that IE will be as secure as Firefox. Is this true? Will these programs (as well as SP2) eliminate the great majority of spyware that would otehrwise come onto your computer?

Thanks.

2. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team

IE can not be penetrated by any publically known vulnerability if by properly locked down one means the Internet Zone is set to High.

Having said that....where that falls apart IMHO is in the fact that many less knowledgeable users should not have to then learn as much as one needs to learn in order to keep that setting on High. Of course....if those same users choose to remain less knowledgeable and follow advice that browser ABC is safer than IE....does that now mean they are still safe :doubt:

3. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

I've been running IE on this computer for over 2 years, and I don't have IE set as tightly as some, and I have had absolutely no problems. Of course I do run a whole layered suite of security stuff.

Pete

4. siliconman01

siliconman01 Registered Member

The same here. I haven't had problems for ages...knock on wood. :rolleyes:

5. prr

prr Registered Member

That's interesting. I've never run IE on High before. What would that involve--a lot of windows requesting permission to run program x ?

As far as choosing other browsers, by your last 8 words are you doubting that these users are safer with Firefox/Opera/Netscape?

6. diginsight

diginsight Security Expert