Load Time

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by DiNozzo, Jan 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DiNozzo

    DiNozzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,

    I'm running NOD32 3.0 on Vista, and I noticed that the startup time of NOD is fairly long. I see the splash screen in the middle for a good 20-25 seconds, before it minimizes as an icon to the taskbar.

    Is this normal?
     
  2. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Doesnt happen to me at all. Loads very quickly. What other start up items do you have? Try disabling other start up items in msconfig and see what happens. You can also try to clean out your prefetch folder.
     
  3. DooGie

    DooGie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    112
    I get the same startup delay with NOD32 v3 using XP Home.
    My startup items are kept to a minimum and after bootup I am only showing 26 processes running.
    I just accept it as a minor annoyance really.
     
  4. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    I am on XP Home and it boots up very quickly. Like I said what do you have in your start up and try cleaning out your prefetch. You can also use this to defragg your boot files.You can also disable the boot up scan in NOD32.

    http://www.download.com/TuneXP/3000-2086_4-10290928.html
     
  5. DiNozzo

    DiNozzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I changed a couple of settings, and the load time remains unaffected. I wonder if the type of processor one has makes a difference. I tried NOD32 on my desktop with is a 2.66 dual core (vs 2.0 dual core on the laptop), and the splash screen stays for about 8 seconds on the desktop.
     
  6. capatt

    capatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    84
    You can turn off the splash screen. then, no more worries about how long it's there!
     
  7. DiNozzo

    DiNozzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I have done that, however the splash screen is just a turn on and off feature. NOD32 is still loading in the background for 20-25 seconds.
     
  8. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Have tried disabling all your start up items yet except NOD32? If it boots up quicker then start re enabling each start up item one at a time and like I said if you clean out your prefetch folder that will restart your boot items.
     
  9. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    This is the main problem I have with NOD. I have tried eliminating the update at boot and other scheduling to no avail. It does what it wants. Most times I have to reboot to get all programs loaded. I am disappointed in ESET that it hasn't been corrected.
     
  10. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    What version are you using. I never heard of this problem and it boots up just great on my system with XP. I am using 3.0.621.0 and any other version booted up fine.
     
  11. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    WilliamP and DiNozzo

    I have the same boot lag problem with 3.0.621.0 on 2 machines.

    Boot takes ages as nod does its thing, even with splash off / all scheduled activities unchecked.

    One machine has XP Home, one XP Pro.
    Only one had (EXCELLENT) Nod 2.7 before, other one had AVG
    Neither machine has same firewall (one Comodo, one OA)
    Both machines have minimal services starting up (I've even disabled egui.exe) and all the usual fast-boot tweaks.

    I think the issue might well be with Nod 3.0, which evidently loads way slower than 2.7

    Surely there are enough of us posting the same problem that we can't all be crazy...?

    Philby
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2008
  12. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I am using XP Pro.SP2. NOD 3.0.621. Comodo firewall.
     
  13. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Well I am using XP SP2 with NOD32 3.0.621.0 with ZAAS for my firewall. My load times are quick without ZAAS. ZA is known to slow your boot up and it hangs at your welcome screen but thats normal. With that said I only have 8 things in my start folder in msconfig. NOD32 and ZAAS. The others are my Nvidia drivers and my G15 keyboard stuff. After uninstalling and reinstalling so many different apps I always clean up my registry. Then if my boot up is slow the best thing to do is empty your prefetch folder and defrag your boot files. After doing that I cut 10 -15 secs off my boot time.
     
  14. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I keep everything cleaned out and defragged. I use Perfect Disk 8.
     
  15. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Have you tried using offline in Perfectdisk which does your boot up files. I just installed NOD32 on my laptop with XP and my splash screen is there for about 5 seconds.
     
  16. Darken

    Darken Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Canada
  17. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Thats Vista for you. I have uninstalled Vista in so many clients pc's and went back to XP. NOD32 splash screen shows for about 3-5 secs in XP.
     
  18. Darken

    Darken Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Canada
    All works fine for me with Vista (legal copies, not warez stuffs). At the price for each Vista licenses, I keep my PCs with Vista. Also, I submit this picture here to tell that Nod32 v3 is slower than the v2 for the startup (splash screen disabled).
     
  19. mingus

    mingus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Posts:
    20
    i was using 3.0.621 also and am going back to 2.7 on my laptop with XP Pro - takes a minute or so to load.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.