LnS Setup

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by WilliamP, Feb 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I have two computers. One I have Zone Alarm free and my older computer had Norton 2002,which I just removed. The subscription was about to run out. I am trying LnS on the older computer to see how I like it. I may put it on both if all works out. I have some questions. No1. Is LnS better than ZA and how is it better. No2. Is it necessary to load the Internet Filtering Rule Set? I have tried loading it but it said it couldn't open it. I am trying to use Blackspears instructions. Being a NOD32 user I am familiar with his help.
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi WilliamP,

    For the 1st question: since this is the Look 'n' Stop forum, I don't think you will have an answer saying za is better than Look 'n' Stop here ;)
    Perhaps you should post here: Other Firewalls.

    For the 2nd question: do you mean Look 'n' Stop displays an error at startup ? or do you mean you tried to select the enhanced ruleset and you didn't find it ?

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I followed Blackspears instructions and tried to open the Enhanced Rule Set .
     
  4. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I finally got the enhanced rules set. I paid my money so I am now a paying member.
     
  5. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    What is the actual difference between the Standard Rules Set and the Enhanced Rules Set?
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    they provide different rules (im not sure exactly which ones tho) and the enhanced ruleset provided more protection (passes grc stealth test)
     
  7. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    The main difference is about incoming TCP connections that are all blocked by default with the enhanced ruleset. With the Standard rule set some are allowed (Ident for instance).

    Frederic
     
  8. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you all for the replies. So far I really like LNS.
     
  9. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    In Advanced Options Mis. box which boxes should I have checked?
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i usually have everything checked except for "raw log" and "watch dns calls". also if u have hardware dep, dont enable "watch thread injection". The beta driver may or may not solve that issue.
     
  11. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I'm not sure about dep. I have Pent. 4 XP Pro Sp2. Dell 8400
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    u probably dont. usually newer 64-bit processors have it (athlon 64, pentium 4 6xx, etc)
     
  13. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Based on what I have read I probably don't have it. So should I check the box to watch? Will it cause any problems? Boy that didn't work right. I had a shut down. I still had LNS but my licsense no. was gone and all the set up went back to original.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2006
  14. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Everything seems to be back to normal. I reinput my licence no and set everything back to the way it was, except the Advanced Options Misc. check boxes. They are at default.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.