LnS registration code changed

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by ErikAlbert, Jul 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    My code number of LnS changed without any reason and my serial number isn't valid anymore.
    I paid for LnS and my hardware hasn't changed.
    How do I get this fixed before I get really angry ? :)
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
  3. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Thank you for the link and solution.
    As soon my ISP has deactivated his Anti-Spam filter for me and I get spam-emails back in my inbox, I will fill in my data via the above mentioned link.
    I don't want my ISP to consider your email as a spam-email, because I need this email.
    I guess one day later won't make a difference.

    Nevertheless, I would like to know how this could happen.
    I thought I could install LnS unlimited times on MY ONLY and ALWAYS THE SAME home computer like all my other softwares.
    Is this going to happen again in the future ?
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Of course, this was not supposed to happens.
    A code change without any hardware modification is very rare. However we are aware of few cases for which this happens:
    - when updating some video driver (I absolutely have no idea why there is a link with that)
    - if the PC disk configuration is SCSI only

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    The problem is fixed after receiving your reply by email.
    I don't have SCSI, I have SATA and I didn't have a video driver updating either.
    I think it will remain a mysterious combination for now :)
    Thank you again for fixing it so fast.
     
  6. jasyn

    jasyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    this happened to me today as well :rolleyes: waiting for a response now to get a new serial :(
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    jasyn,
    I understand your feelings, I wasn't happy either when this happened, because I never expected this after having paid and getting a valid serial number and not using another computer to install LnS.
    I'm sure the response of LnS will fix it, but it's a very annoying experience.
     
  8. jasyn

    jasyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    how long does it take to get a new serial? i'm still waiting!!!
     
  9. jasyn

    jasyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    i'm still waiting for a new code. who am i suppose to contact hereo_O there's no 1800 number or anything .. they don't even seem to respond to the "support" i filed!
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  11. wreckwriter

    wreckwriter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    68
    It happens CONSTANTLY. Restore any data from a backup and LNS changes its code. It a major hassle. I just sent my request, second time in about a week.
     
  12. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    That's what I did often, restoring from an image backup file and that is maybe the real reason.
    But it doesn't happen after each restoration, because I restored yesterday and the code wasn't changed.
     
  13. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi ErikAlbert and wreckwriter :)

    The registration code and key are kept there:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Soft4Ever\looknstop\register

    Just to export this key and save it in a safe place ...

    :)
     
  14. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I ran regedit and followed your path :
    I found HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    I found Software
    Didn't find Soft4Ever and the rest of the path. :)
     
  15. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    HI :)

    This one :
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Soft4Ever\looknstop\register
    IF in the option tab "registry" is "system level"

    This one:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Soft4Ever\looknstop\register
    and this one
    HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Soft4Ever\looknstop\register
    IF in the option tab "registry" is "per user"
     

    Attached Files:

  16. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Climenole,
    Merci beaucoup :)
    I found it and saved it on a floppy and I my intelligence increased.
     
  17. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi ErikAlbert :)

    No problem.

    Have a nice week end.

    :)
     
  18. wreckwriter

    wreckwriter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    68
    Thank you very much! This will make life easier!
     
  19. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi wreckwriter :)

    You're wellcome.

    :)
     
  20. Jerry S

    Jerry S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Las Cruces NM USA
    I noticed that there are two users that had problems with losing registration info after image restore. When you created the image of your HDD, had you either logged off windows or did a restart after you had validated your LnS? To get the registry saved to disk, you either have to log off or restart windows. Imaging SW only clones the Drive. I shot myself in the foot with a different program for that very reason. I hope you find this useful.
     
  21. wreckwriter

    wreckwriter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    68
    I shut down nightly, PC is in the bedroom and has too many fans for the wife to sleep.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.