L'N'S for windows 7 ?

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by 1hui, Nov 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1hui

    1hui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    the computer without L'N'S is not safe :D
    so when the new version for windows 7 will be released?:D
     
  2. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Perhaps after the Windows 7 gets shipped out... :p


    You using the Windows 7 beta? Have you tried using Look 'n' Stop 2.06p3 on it?



    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     
  3. 1hui

    1hui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    hi Phant0m

    sorry for replying so late.
    yes,I am using win7 beta(ver 6801).
    I was using LnS 2.06 when I post this thread.I installed it on win 7.
    Reboot.
    BLUE SCREEN.....

    I have installed LnS 2.06p3 on win 7 now.
    I haven't got a bule screen yet.
    but
    Looks like the language plugin doesn't work.

    thanks for paying attention.

    1hui.
     
  4. SOUSOUS

    SOUSOUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Using 2.06p3 french version on Windows 7 7000, works fine for the moment except the DLL detection, always BSOD
     
  5. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    I've tested the 2.06p3 version on the build 7000 (Win32 only, at that time), and it is working fine (for the standard features).

    Normally the TDI stack is no longer supported after Vista, so it was unexpected the application filtering still installs and works properly.
    I don't know if finally TDI will be still supported, or if this is just for this beta and it will be removed later, in a future beta, or for the final release.

    Yes, the DLL filtering requires an update, here is a patch version of lnsfw1.sys fixing that:
    http://looknstop.soft4ever.com/Beta/lnsfw1/LNSFW1-p2.zip

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  6. 1hui

    1hui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    hi Frederic

    The new driver works well now.

    It looks like that LnS 2.06p3 works perfect on windows 7 beta build 7000 now!:D


    Regards,

    1hui
     
  7. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    hi Frederic, i don't know what's wrong, but i can't even connect to internet with 2.06p3.

    i'm connecting to broadband using PPPoE. On XP system, i set the preferred network interface as "WAN Miniport (IP) - Look 'n' St - xxxxx". All works.

    However, in Win7, this network interface selection doesn't work. In the Welcome tab, the status shows IP address as 0.0.0.0. The Connected checkbox is not ticked, but the Statistics data is working.

    Any ideas?

    thanks!
     
  8. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi thylacine,

    After you are connected through PPPoE, could you try using the following tool:
    http://looknstop.soft4ever.com/Tools/AdaptList.exe

    I would like to know what you get for "WAN Miniport (PPPoE)" and "WAN Miniport (IP)" adapters.

    I understand Look 'n' Stop in the options tab only shows "WAN Miniport (IP)" but not "WAN Miniport (PPPoE)".

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  9. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    well, i don't have "WAN Miniport (PPPoE)" listed.

    i'm attaching the lists here.

    note: i've masked the last 3 octets in the mac address listed. hope it's ok.


    additional info: Since i noticed LnS doesn't function in Win7, I have set Windows Firewall enabled, although enabling/disabling it doesn't make any difference to LnS at all.

    thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Adresse MAC: 00:11:2f:xx:xx:xx
    Adresse IP: 192.168.1.2


    Does this 'Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010' Network Adapter show in the Network interfaces list? Is this your primary adapter used when making Internet connection?
     
  11. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    Marvel Yukon is the main/only adapter for internet connection.

    I have 4 entries in the Network Interfaces screen:

    WAN Miniport (IPv6)
    WAN Miniport (Network Monitor)
    WAN Miniport (IP)
    Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Try checking the adapter 'Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010' and 'Apply' it and then re-visit the Look 'n' Stop - Welcome screen and see if you have 192.168... shown for 'IP Address: field.


    Do some surfing, you should see the Statistics information increasing.
     
  13. 1hui

    1hui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    If you select the adapter 'Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010"
    you should add a rule to allow PPPoE frames( ethernet type 8864 or 8863?)

    IF you add a rule to allow PPPoE frames.It looks like that you add a rule "allow all"..:doubt:
     
  14. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    @Phant0m,

    If i select adapter "Marvell Yukon", the Welcome screen shows conencted IP as 192.168.1.2 ... statistics are increasing .... however, the Standard/EnhancedRulesSet blocked all incoming packets ...

    Rule: All other packets
    Type: ETH
    Address: 00:90:1A:xx:xx:xx
     
  15. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    There must be a problem with getting the IP on "WAN Miniport (IP) - Look 'n' St - xxxxx", but you say the Statistics is increasing.... And you don't have "WAN Miniport (PPPoE)" in that list, I guess you'll have to wait for the big man to arrive to solve your problem. o_O
     
  16. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    There was actually a "WAN Miniport (PPPOE)" in the file you attached, but no IP attached to it:
    WAN Miniport (PPPOE)
    Adresse MAC: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Adresse IP:


    I guess your IP address was mentioned for that one:
    ISP
    Adresse MAC: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Adresse IP: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    Is it correct ?

    And the problem is actually to associate the driver adapter name (Wan Miniport IP) to this interface ("ISP").

    Yes, the firewalls are not linked.

    If you want to use Look 'n' Stop, what you can do is editing the rules using "Equal my @" criteria for IP Address settings, and replace this criteria with "All".
    There are two important rules which use this criteria:
    - UDP DNS
    - TCP : Authorize most common Internet services
    And select back the Wan Miniport IP network interface in the options.

    This is the only reason why it is not working: the IP address associated to the adapter is not properly retrieved.

    After you confirm "ISP" was the right adapter for the IP address I will propose a patch for looknstop.exe (so you could use again "Equal my @" criteria).

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  17. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    the ISP is my dial-up to broadband. it's using dynamic IP.

    let me try your suggestion.

    i'll update here soon.
     
  18. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    well, i need a patch (or update) to associate my broadband dialer with WAN Miniport ...

    thanks guys
     
  19. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi thylacine,

    I've updated AdaptList to display the type of interface:
    http://looknstop.soft4ever.com/Tools/AdaptList.exe

    I would like to know which interface type is detected for this "ISP" connection.

    Note: the new AdaptList tool displays only network interfaces having an IP layer (to get all network interfaces, "-all" switch can be used, normally not required here).

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  20. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    hi frederic,

    attached is the updated info.

    thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    You're in luck thylacine! The AdaptList log reveals Frederic's enhancement is working like a charm. :)



    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     
  22. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    hi Frederic/Phant0m,

    been some time now since my last update ...

    good to hear the enhancement is coming along. But, where is it? :)
     
  23. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi thylacine,

    Did you receive my email with a special version to test (one month ago) ?

    Frederic
     
  24. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    i'm afraid not ... been awaiting my email since i PMed you my email ...

    strange ... i thought you were still figuring out a possible solution, that's why i dropped by asking for updates ;)

    anyway, do you mind resend it again?

    thanks frederic!
     
  25. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    oh wow! the fix works flawlessly!

    now i don't feel 'naked on the Net' with Windows 7 anymore ;)

    THANK YOU, Frederic and team! A good job well done!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.