LnS doesn't recognize my NICs; says not connected (0.0.0.0)

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by manuangi, Nov 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi Manuangi,

    This is very strange, first time I see that so far.
    Did you really install nothing new ?

    Does your internet connection work anyway ?

    Could you give us the Driver Logs content from the Console Window ?

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  3. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    in the log win, from the console, I just see some "E:\AVANT BROWSER\AVANT.EXE", lots of times.

    new stuff installed..maybe, but can't really say..
    the thing is than LnS seems to be working..as I said, apps asks for going out, and some rules I created clearly work..
    but I can't see anything in the nics room, and in the log window either..

    what can I do? any suggestions? anything else I can check?

    ah, forgot to say..my internet connection (adsl) works ok!
    if I try and open another session of lns...same thing, or worse: it can't even locate and load any ruleset :doubt:
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    To avoid the console window containing a lot of "AVANT.EXE" and perhaps we are missing the first lines, could you open the console and press the Driver Logs button just after you rebooted your PC and just after you are connected, and before any connection with your internet browser.

    You can try to install Look 'n' Stop on top of your current installation (I mean without uninstalling), but I don't think it will really change something.

    Frederic
     
  5. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    as you said, installing it over itself again dind't change things..

    this is what the log window says:

    Look 'n' Stop Version 2.05p2

    Driver versions: 4.07 & 3.04
    API Driver versions: 3.05 & 4.01
    [2:27:41] Firewall Internet abilitato[2:27:41] Firewall App. abilitato[2:27:41] Scheda di rete non selezionata: Sceglierne una nelle opzioni.[2:27:41] Il PC non è connesso a internet.[2:27:41] Watch Failed


    if you have problems understanding italian, i can translate..

    anyway, now..what's your advice for me?
    thank you!
     
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Sounds like an Uninstall is necessary, re-boot, re-install Look ‘n’ Stop.
    What version of Windows you using? for “Local Area Connection* Properties” is “Look 'n' Stop Driver” listed and enabled?
     
  7. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi manuangi,

    Did you press the "Driver Logs" button (or its translation :) before copying/paste this Console information ?

    Perhaps there will be something interesting, but I think Phant0m is probably right, it seems an uninstall+reboot+reinstall will be required (if you want to keep your current settings, save your ruleset files somewhere and create a .reg file with the extra save option, or select only the "Delete Program" choice in the uninstall dialog box).

    Frederic
     
  8. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    yes, it's listed and enabled.. :(

    I'll try your (Frederic + Phant0m's) hints..but before, I'll reboot and post here another DriversLog, let's see.

    anyway..no idea on how to explain this strange behaviour?
     
  9. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    No, never seen this kind of behavior before.
    Yes, this is strange, especially if it happened suddenly and if the Look 'n' Stop driver is still attached to the netwprk adpaters in the Windows configuration.

    Frederic
     
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Prior to this happening, have you done system restore, or restore of some sort like even a mere registry file import?

    You never installed additional third-party firewall with Look ‘n’ Stop already currently installed on the system have you?

    And yet another question, prior to this problem, I assume you would have had to re-boot the system first and come to see that anomaly, I don’t suppose you can re-call if you downloaded and installed anything or installed anything from disks or uninstalled anything the windows session before hand? What may seem insignificant can be just the opposite, that is why I ask.

    Also did you run any specific clean-up utilities, registry cleaners perhaps?
     
  11. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    I don't know how to say that but..all's back to normal now..

    I did what I'd done many times before, with no success: closing and restarting LnS.

    The nth time, my ethernet nic was recognized..I rebooted, the other 2 were as well..

    So, now LnS works good, with no apparent bugs..

    Still, I'm wondering about all those strange behaviours.. o_O
     
  12. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi manuangi,

    Do you confirm you have no other network application or utility ?

    Perhaps there is something with the driver loading position. Usually these problems are about lnsfw1.sys. But perhaps same kind of bad loading position could happen with lnsfw.sys causing this kind of trouble.

    Next time, ask for a boot log and we will check when the lnsfw.sys driver is loaded.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  13. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    maybe I found the culprit..

    trying to reproduce the situation, I succeeded when I used WinSockFix to recover from a lost internet connection..

    on the next reboot, LnS gave me the trouble I first posted here for.

    then, I reinstalled it over the corrupted version, and all got ok again.

    so, a bit of feedback for you, if you happen to use Winsockfix.. ;)
     
  14. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Ok, but initally why did you use WinSockFix ?

    It is supposed to fix registry issues after uninstalling network related stuff.
    You had a first issue before using WinSockFix ?

    Frederic
     
  15. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    I used WinSockFix because, for some reason, my ADSL connection wasn't working anylonger..and that fixed it (ie, I was able to surf the web again)

    I think it was not at all related with LnS.
    But the fixing process must have corrupted something in it..do you think you can reproduce the "bug"?
     
  16. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi manuangi,

    I don't think I can do something if this utility is modifying network registry entries...

    Frederic
     
  17. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    you know, some apps, when other ones try to modify files or registry entry fundamental for the 1st to run in a proper way..they pop you up about that..
     
  18. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    I happened to use WinsockFix once again, as I was unable to surf the web..it restored everything ok..but again, troubles with LnS..

    So I was wondering..it would be good to have a sort of backup possibility prior to using those socket fixing utilities..so that, after the pc is rebooted, LnS can still see the nics and work properly..

    @Frederic: if you have a "battle" pc ;) you use for trying software, you might check what that WinSockFix does to LnS..what do you think?
     
  19. halcyon

    halcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    373
    This is a known issue to me too.

    It happened to me when I first installed LnS, but I can't for the life of me remember how I solved it.

    But the problem is there.
     
  20. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Angelica :)

    Sounds like a WinSocks Hijack by some malware...
    I guess it's not related to L'n'S but some other security problems...

    I don't know if it's "out of the scope" of this forum but I suggest you
    to scan your PC with HijackThis and post the log here. I'll check it.

    HijackThis:
    http://www.merijn.org/downloads.html

    :)
     
  21. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    you're OFF Topic.
    the pc is clean.

    what I said is that whenever you launch WinSockFix, LnS starts having troubles. that's it.
     
  22. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Your PC is clean ? Good News. :)

    ;-)
    ( Please accept my apology. May be I'm a paranoiac.
    I Help many poeple every days who have such "clean PC" )
    ;-)

    Is it possible that an other Firewall was not completly uninstalled before the installation of L'n'S ? Such as Zone Alarm or Outpost ?

    In the case of ZA the remaining stuff in the registry prevent the installation
    of an other FW...

    If it's the case there is a cleaner for this...

    Let us know.
    :)
     
  23. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi manuangi,

    It is not clear to me if WinsockFix solved a 1st issue you hat but caused trouble with Look 'n' Stop, or if you used WinsockFix to fix some troubles you had with Look 'n' Stop.

    Could you clarify ?

    If we are in the 1st case, how did you fix the trouble you had with Look 'n' Stop ?

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  24. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes, we are in the 1st case

    1) the situation was ok, both LnS and internet connection going smoothly
    2) the connection dropped, no way to connect back --> winsock issue
    3) I used Winsockfix to fix 2), and I was again able to surf the web, but..
    4) ..LnS got corrupted: it seems to work normally (apps ask for permissions and rules are applied)..but in the GUI I can't see any NICs and the program says I'm not connected

    So I guess that WinSockFix CAUSED a malfunctioning into LnS

    How I fixed that? In the past, as you can read from my previous posts, I solved LnS issue by reinstalling it over the corrupted version.
    And that's what I'm going to do this time as well

    What I updated this thread for is - having found out that WinSockFix, when used, corrupts LnS - to ask you to further investigate the situation.
    For example, have one PC with LnS on, use Winsockfix, and see what happens..To be able to strenghten LnS, and so to avoid the corruption. ;)
     
  25. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    just to let you know that, this time, reinstalling over the corrupted version did not work..I'll have to try uninstalling & reinstalling.. :doubt:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.