LNS crash underload

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by starfish_001, Feb 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I've been testing LNS for a few days after completing some general testing, adding the Phantom Rules set and completing some leaktests I decided to try LNS under heavy load Outpost suffers a bit


    Not a very sophisticated test - open 20-30 tabs in Opera and just click links on the resulting pages - aiming to keep a few pages open/close etc - you get the idea.

    After a while LNS stopped working. I restarted opera, Proxomitron and then exited LNS - connection working again. Start LNS no connection - Reboot all fine again

    Any insight appreciated - better test - experience etc?
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    How did you detect Look 'n' Stop was no longer working ?

    Do you think the problem was on the Internet Filtering part or the Application filtering part ?
    Also perhaps some important information to understanf what's happening was present in the log.

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  3. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I initially thought it was opera or Proxomitron but after closing an restarting them. I started to look else where in the end I found that by exiting LNS - all of my apps started working.

    I have no proper idea of which layer stopped working but when I checked the activity pane in LNS I could see outbound packets but no inbound - so I think it was the Internet filtering.

    Did not try and toggle it so no way to tell


    I'll take a look at the log tonight - it should be still there as I was testing in a FD-ISR snapshot
     
  4. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I tried again - nothing in the log.

    It appears to be the internet filter - if I disable it all is fixed - Exit restart LNS still problem - only fixed on boot

    I tried this with standard - enhanced rules same result with each
     
  5. PeterVO

    PeterVO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    Hello,

    I'm using the latest beta of Opera always with 54 tabs open, together with Ad Muncher and LNS doesn't give any problems.

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO
     
  6. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Thanks - but I do have a problem with the Internet filter. I don't get this problem with Outpost or Jetico.

    At the moment I have switched my attention to trying out Tiny and Core Force
     
  7. Thomas M

    Thomas M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    355
    ... always 54 open tabs? :eek: :eek: :eek: Puhh, for me that would be the information callapse ;)

    Anyway, I can not use Opera together with LnS, because LnS always blocks the first or the first two outbound http request packets from opera.exe. This behavior significantly slows down my surfing speed :(

    However, I never observed a permenant block of Opera. After a delay of a few seconds my Opera loads the page...

    Thomas :)
     
  8. PeterVO

    PeterVO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    Hello Thomas,

    did you uncheck "Look for local network machine" in
    'Preferences' ==> 'Advanced' ==> 'Server name completion'?
    That should speed it up a bit.

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO:rolleyes:
     
  9. Thomas M

    Thomas M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    355
    Hello PeterVO,
    Thanks a lot for your advice :)
    I tried it, but I still get these annoying initial outbound blocks in LnS :(
    So, I'll stick with Firefox for some more time. By the way: Have you ever tried Firefox with the extension called "Noscript"? This is a very fine peace of software, I love it :)
    This is my primary reason not to use Opera anymore...

    Thanks again for your help!
    Thomas :)
     
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi starfish_001

    Are we seeing Stateful Packet Inspection blockings for Outgoings?


     
  11. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    No the outbound seems ok
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    When the problems happens, no Stateful Packet Inspection loggings in Look 'n' Stop Log screen?
     
  13. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    There is plenty of outbound activity but no inbound are fas a I can tell

    but remember I'm not a LNS user - I'm really a Outpost user looking for a new firewall.
     
  14. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    There is plenty of outbound activity but no inbound are fas a I can tell

    but remember I'm not a LNS user - I'm really a Outpost user looking for a new firewall.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.