LnS and Avast Issue

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by whitedragon551, May 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I just installed Avast v5. During the install a LnS window popped up asking me to allow or block a file called UNKNOWN. If you block it Avast wont update, if you allow Avast updates fine. Why is LnS not identifying this correctly?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    I've seen this exactly once... No idea why, very likely comes from the self-modifying AVAST.SETUP updater.
     
  3. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    If you delete the UNKNOWN entry in the application filtering and try to update does it appear normal for you? It doesnt for me. It keeps being recognized as UNKNOWN and an unknown file path is shown in the FW rules.
     
  4. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
  5. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Weird. When I had Avast before it never created this issue.
     
  6. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Yes, it updates just fine. You might want to repair/reinstall Avast.
     
  7. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    No I mean was the UNKNOWN file eventually recognized for you?

    I uninstalled, rebooted, cleared out all the left over Avast files, rebooted again and reinstalled and I still get the issue.
     
  8. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    I have seen it ONCE, deleted it from the rules and never seen it again. Avast is updating just fine.
     
  9. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    After I delete it and try to update it keeps coming back.
     
  10. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Shrug; as said - can't reproduce no matter what.
     
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I guess Avast is out until LnS can properly identify it.
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
  13. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    If this filename uses a non standard extension (something different from .exe, .com, .bat...) like AVAST.SETUP then it is normal Look 'n' Stop doesn't detect properly the name of the parent process.


    Please add the registry tweak to have it properly detect additional non-standard extension that Avast is using.
     
  14. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    On a general note, wouldn't mind to have the registry keys documented somewhere. Not just this one.
     
  15. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    After applying the tweak, you have to re-boot the computer for it to work.
     
  16. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I applied the registry tweak and it worked fine. However Avast was recognized properly the first time I installed it, but it isnt now after having switched between a few apps. Im more curious as to why it used to work, but doesnt now?
     
  17. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Switching between different apps had nothing to-do with it.


    There are several Avast! components that Look 'n' Stop Application filtering detects, Avast automatic updater AVAST.SETUP isn't one of them. Without the tweak applied, you only see the UNKNOWN alert for this.
     
  18. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Then why was it recognized properly without the registry tweak the first time I installed Avast?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.