livecd and fd-isr

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by stapp, Mar 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stapp

stapp Global Moderator

I have recieved a linux livecd of ubuntu today, I guess I just want to look at what is on the other side of the curtain.

I don't want to install it as I said, just run it and have a look at linux.

Will there be any problems putting in the cd and letting it boot? I ask because of any possible conflict with FD-ISR. If I had to make a choice, there would be no choice, FD is my lifeline!

2. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

Each time when I want to do something risky or something I've never done before, I take a backup of my system partition.
    I trust my backup software, including the restoration.

After that I just do what I want without fear, including your livecd.

3. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

Hi Stapp

I agree with Erik on this. No telling what livecd does, you might post about that in the general forum, but I like to have a tested image before doing stuff like that. Then I am covered as if the disk failed, which FDISR doesn't cover.

Pete

4. ErikAlbert

I've seen enough posts, where users should have taken a backup first, but they didn't and that's where the real misery begins, if something goes wrong.
    Sometimes I have to control myself for not typing an impolite post. :D

5. Meriadoc

Meriadoc Registered Member

Shouldn't be any problems booting from the cd.

6. stapp

stapp Global Moderator

I must be totally honest here with you gentlemen, and tell you that I came back to tell you how I got on, and have just read your posts.

First, let me tell you that I tried it, it worked, and luckily my computer and FD are unaffected.