list for approved programs using PG?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by talon7, Jan 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. talon7

talon7 Guest

Is there any sort of a list available of the different parts that belong to each program and other things in Windows that you need to allow with PG, so when I first install Process Guard, I will know what to allow? I understand with all the programs out there this would have to be a giant list, so perhaps instead is there any way I can determine myself which things belong to each program on my system, so I will know what to allow, and what could be malware? I hope I am explaining myself ok here, I'm still somewhat new to PG.

2. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

Hi Talon7, To see what files are associated with different programs you can use tools such as SysInternals Process Explorer or Faber Toys.

Before installing ProcessGuard you need to make sure that your system is as clean as possible.
    Do a full scan with your AV / AT with the latest definitions or one of the on line scans.
    Run AdAware free and SpyBot Search & Destroy
    Update your OS with the latest patches.

Read the ProcessGuard helpfile before installing, it is available as a seperate download from here:
    http://www.diamondcs.com.au/processguard/index.php?page=help

If you are using the trial version You are limited the first four items listed below.

FREE and FULL
    Control application execution
    Protect applications from unwanted termination
    Protect applications from unwanted modification & injection
    Protect applications from unwanted viewing
    FULL Only
    Block new and changed programs
    Protect physical memory (prevent operating system vulnerabilities)
    Block Global Hooks (stops keyloggers and password stealers)
    Block unwanted driver/service installation (stops rootkit trojans)
    Block registry DLL injection (stops spyware such as CoolWebSearch)