Linux Mint Security Question

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by oma53, Jun 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oma53

oma53 Registered Member

I am new to Linux and I am struggling to understand fully what is required to start. I have a few questions but first this is what I have done so far after doing as much research as I could understand:

1. Installed Linux Mint (online as suggested) on a system that has XP Pro already installed
    2. I spent about two hours looking around and familiarizing myself with the operating system offline
    3. I went online and I updated the system through the Update Manager (#1 and #2 updates)
    4. I am now setting up a limited user account and trying to research the firewall before I go online and use the internet

I am very cautious while online and I believe my surfing habits are safe, well…for windows anyway. My questions are as follows:

The third option for the update manager states “#3-Safe Packages Not Tested But Believed To Be Safe”. This is the third choice out of five. If I compare this to windows I would consider this to be equal to “Optional Updates” in windows. Is this correct?

Or should I download this level of updates? (all of #3)

Are “rkhunter” and “chkrootkit” packages is should install and use?

Any hints/criticism is appreciated.

Thank you.

2. Most Linux distributions have no ports open by default, and do not benefit from a firewall in most cases. Not sure about Mint though... Just FYI.

If your surfing habits are safe for Windows, they safe for Linux. But note that Linux is not invulnerable - malware in general doesn't target it, but browser exploits can work on it; and phishing is (obviously) still a danger. Pride comes before the fall, etc.

No. Same for 'unhide'. These tools produce lots of false positives, are difficult to use properly, and are probably geared more towards use on servers (where it's suspected that a human attacker has compromised a system).