Linksys Wireless Router Hijacked

Discussion in 'hardware' started by billstephenson, Jun 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. billstephenson

billstephenson Registered Member

I am no security expert, but this is an issue I recently came across.

Awhile back "Ask.com" started redirecting me to web sites other than the one listed when I clicked a link in their search results pages.

This problem continued to get worse and started affecting Yahoo and Google as well. It was driving me pretty crazy because I knew my Mac computers did not have a virus.

Well, I spent some time tracking the issue down this week and found it was caused my Linksys Wireless Router made by Cisco Systems.

These routers are sold in Wal-Marts everywhere and meant to be used for home networks. The problem did not show up until the router's warranty had expired.

The router had DNS numbers that pointed to a server that redirects URL requests to sites that display ads that someone collects money from when a user clicks on them.

Here's the info on the DNS server that the router was using:

It is hosted by ukrtelegroup.com.ua

The DNS numbers are:

If you use one of these Linksys routers you should check to see what DNS numbers it's using and I recommend changing them no matter what, as other pre-installed numbers from unreliable sources could also cause the problem.

I called Cisco, they were no help at all. Said they've never heard of the problem. Wanted $100 bucks to tell me how to update the firmware, which did not solve the problem.

If anyone here knows more about this please respond, as this is really all I know about it.

Kindest Regards,

Bill Stephenson

2. robertoa81

robertoa81 Registered Member