Lightest-Tightest System

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by guest, Dec 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guest

    guest Guest

    I just thought I would start a thread about who had the lightest and tightest system

    Chime in with yours:D :D :D

    First Image is of my current desktop

    Processes 25

    Paging file 0MB

    Services 21 ""update"" I guess I was not done cleaning up unneeded Services, removed "AdobeFlashPlayerUpdateSvc",".NET Runtime Optimization Service", and "ASP.NET state service" now only 18 Services

    System Drive 4.63GB
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 31, 2012
  2. flamerz

    flamerz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    112 processes 216 services.

    what skin are you using? its awesome.
     
  3. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    90 processes, 160mb ram used, with XBMC running. From a ubuntu 12.10 base server install ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    That is a Skin for WindowBlinds7.41.1

    The Dragon is automated, he spit's fire when you click the start button
    I had to be quick to catch the image to post it

    Of course the skin is call Dragon, just look on their site for it

    I do not change my skin so I have also modified WindowBlinds
    To keep a tight system, I deleted all skins expect the Dragon skin
    and deleted almost all files in the program folder for WindowBlinds,
    and left just enough for the skin to load at boot up, basely I uninstalled
    WindowBlinds and left just enough for the skin to boot and did a good
    system cleaning after this

    If you are interested in how to do this I will post a image of WindowBlinds
    install folder, it will show you what you need to leave to make a permanent
    skin for the system:D

    I may be able to remove more but just hadn't had the time to work on it
    I just did this, this morning

    "edit" did some more work on WindowBlinds "only need 4 files" to load skin
    also you need to go to Documents and Settings
    and check all areas that windowblinds may have installed to and delete
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 27, 2012
  5. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    46 processes, 1.25GB of ram used. But keep in mind my HD swapfile is 0 because I have so much spare ram I run everything in ram. It's a 3.2Ghz Quad Core, 1-terabyte drive, and a 4GB graphic card(460GTXOC). I could probably cut the processes down to 20 or so, but I have lots of extra horsepower so I don't worry about it.

    Picture;
    http://www.anony.ws/i/2012/12/27/a1uDf.jpg

    Also, I run my browsers in Ram-Disks, the cache and everything are stored in ram. It's a 20-25% speed increase in browsing. That also reduces my ram, I think I have 500MB cached just for browsing.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    I can tell your a gamer:D
    Nice looking desktop;)
     
  7. flamerz

    flamerz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    i installed it and my dragon does not make fire (only open mouth). o_O
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Well, something is not right, are you sure you have the right one?

    I believe they may have more than one on the site with the same dragon
    but some do not shoot fire, also I'm not sure if the wallpaper comes with
    it

    I might try to reinstall it just in case
     
  9. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    SOME WindowBlinds skins require other aspects of the Object Desktop Suite to function properly. It just depends, so perhaps the dragon breath requires DesktopX to animate it. Something to consider. WindowBlinds was made by Stardock, programmed by a fella in the UK from remote. (Neil Banfield) He has made nearly 100 million dollars off it, and lives in a Castle. Programmed right from his home office. It's a great product really.

    Yes I am a gamer, mostly because I have been a producer or executive at a couple game companies. But I love gaming, and it's really the only reason I run Windows, since gaming on Linux is pretty lousy. Generally my machines are powerful because I need the power for gaming. Hehe.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    flamerz

    You have a PM:thumb:
     
  11. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    Windows 8 reports 21 background processes and 20 Windows processes.

    looking forward for WindowsBlind to make it to Windows 8
     
  12. max2

    max2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    339
    This is what I need on my older P4 1.6 Ghz computer with only 512 mb of ram.
     
  13. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    What you need on that is a tiny linux distro.

    My ram disk for chromium cache is larger than that total ram! But seriously, not a good box for windows, but absolutely fine with Linux. We take old boxes like that, toss linux on them(ubuntu or whatever), then hand them off to people for surfing, email, graphic work, anything really. They work. Also good for firewalls.
     
  14. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    you should not be running W7 or W8 with less than 2 GB or RAM

    i agree with Bodithree: use XP or a small Linux Distro, Mint XFCE, Puppy Linux, etc...
     
  15. max2

    max2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    339
    I agree but right now I use Windows XP with it.

    If I knew how to use linux I would do it. I just don't know enough about it. Though I agree when I tried a tiny linux distro worked wonders!
     
  16. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    Linux is magnificently easy to run, just grab a distro and install it.. It functions a whole lot like Windows in most areas, and the distros are almost foolproof. With repositories, you can't go wrong - 1 click installs.

    Grab this bro, http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2263

    You won't be disappointed, and the irony is - it will be blazingly fast on your hardware if you can believe that! Also consider KDE or Maya.. I love Maya.
     
  17. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    the user, max2, has only 512 MB of RAM.

    i'd go with Mint XFCE with that amount of RAM

    but you are right, Mint is a great choice for a newcomer to Linux.
     
  18. Krysis

    Krysis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    DownUnder
    Fully agree with Boditree and Moontan! - 2 months ago I thought Linux distros were for weirdos and people who wore penguins on their heads! Since then I joined this mob and now have Linux Mint 12 - 13, Linux Mint 13KDE, LMDebian, XFCE and Ubuntu12.10 on my system (VMs in Virtualbox) for light distro can't go past XFCE and Linux Mint 13 is easy to use.
     
  19. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    Some years ago, I had a much lighter XP installation than the one showed by the OP (less than 5 services if I remember correctly), however I eventually got tired of fixing the mess whenever something broke. The experience was too restricted, to the point it became almost ridiculous (I was wasting more time "tweaking" the system for "speed" than actually "using" it).
     
  20. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    You have a good point, Wild Hunter . Like you I have used too much time tweaking my system. You see, I am a Gamer, and have used too much time trying to reach the perfect system regarding the use of system resources lol. I have over time realised that it is not so important, at least for me, what virus-protection that is running on my system. Now I have a decent Antivirus solution, that have a good long stable detection and is light on system resources, that is supplemented with a damn good backup policy, and that is that, no extra stuff. (no more endless hours tweaking my system).

    Happy new year everyone, regards Janus
     
  21. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    Pretty much the same boat here. I toss on a light, fine testing(my own tests) AV, then a Rollback solution, and forget about the rest. I run Bullguard2013, Admuncher, and nothing else.

    I tend to toss more hardware at a problem these days and waste less time fussing with windows, or tweaking every little thing. $20 adds another 4GB of ram to a box, so why waste time worrying about what uses 10mb of ram or not, right? It's just useless, bordering on obsessive compulsive. Although I still tweak windows to harden it a good bit, otherwise it's not worth my time - more time to game instead!
     
  22. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
  23. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
  24. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    I made some tweaks and got my system down to 40 processes. I will make more tweaks later today when I get time. One thing I did was disable the Nvidia service which stops 3 processes that really aren't needed. User experience type of rubbish.

    It will be interesting to see how low I can 'safely' get it, then migrate that to the other 5 PC's in the home. Should be fun!
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    ""Beat this! Running Windows with No Services""

    I can't beat that oneo_O

    Me give upo_O o_O o_O
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.