License problem after reformatting

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by lootool, Jul 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lootool

    lootool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, I have a license problem.
    I reformatted my pc many time in a day (yes I'm a newbie as you can see...)
    I deactived my Prevx license the first time and it worked...but now if I go under "Manage Machines Under This License" menu to do it again, I'm unable to deactivate it and this message error is given " Error: (CHK00x) It is not possible to remove another system from this license at this time".
    Does It mean that I've got to wait? or what can I do?
    I don't know if I've been exhaustive... if I'm right asking this way and I'm sorry if I'm not
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2010
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hello lootool and Welcome to the Official Prevx Support Forum!

    Can you please contact the Prevx support inbox http://info.prevx.com/service.asp with your License code and they will be happy to reset it for you! Prevx has a strict license policy to prevent abuse and I'm not saying that you are abusing it! The best thing I can suggest is when you you reinstall your OS and then install Prevx and activate it and then use some sort of OS back up software such as Paragon Backup & Recovery http://www.paragon-software.com/home/brs/ or the one that I use Acronis True Image Home 2010 http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/ also there many others that other members could suggest!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  3. lootool

    lootool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Of course it helped!!
    I'll contact prevx support immediately..
    thank you for your opportune support and for the information about the backup programs that I ignored before...poor ignorance:D
    Silvia
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  5. lootool

    lootool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Problem solved,
    week-end is an optional;)
    they wrote me back early this morning writing:

    "Hi there,

    You should now be able to activate on your new install.

    Kind Regards,
    Prevx Support"



    I've also checked out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_backup_software as you suggested me, but I'm not able to choose the best one since I've never used none...I also searched in this forum but everyone says something different about...
    Could you please link me a discussion or directly tell me one or more trusted freeware backup programs that I can choose?
    I work on Win 7 (64bit) and Ubuntu 9.1 in dual boot and I would like to backup an image of my entire hard disk, partitions included. I don't care if the program is fast or slow, I just want it freeware and reliable since I work as a graphic designer and cant' efford to spend another week tryin' to fix my possessed pc...
    this is my last chance before getting an Apple or change job...(this threat is addressed to my machine, don't care about it;) )
    thank you again
    cheers
    Silvia
     
  6. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Hi, Silvia.

    Of the many threads I've followed, it seems that Macrium Reflect has stood out among those that members sing praises of for a free, simple and reliable imaging solution. I'm surprised someone hasn'y spoken up on it already, but this just may be a slower day and time slot for Wilder's.

    I haven't used Macrium Reflect or researched it alot as I use Terabyte's Image for Windows, a paid software.

    You may want to begin researching Macrium Reflect as a start and meantime see if anyone with more specific experience speaks up on its behalf or suggests something else.

    Good Luck!
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great to here that it is all sorted! And I agree with crofttk on Macrium Reflect as a free option! http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp

    HTH,

    TH
     
  8. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Silvia:

    It's possible you may get more direct and rapid response from forum members if you start up a new thread specifically looking for help on a free and simple multi-partition image/backup/restore solution, perhaps in the "backup, imaging & disk mgmt" forum.

    There must be some members willing to speak up if their attention is drawn to your issue effectively.
     
  9. lootool

    lootool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    perfect!
    I'll try Macrium and open another thread if necessary.
    Thank you both for your precious advices
     
  10. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    If you use Google Search with this specification:
    Code:
    "macrium reflect free" site:wilderssecurity.com
    and check this page, you will have a start: http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp
     
  11. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    This strict registration policy is kind of "stone-aged". I format my computer three times and then I'll have to contact support in order to get the product I paid for working again. Am I the only one seeing what's retarded here?

    Online Armor has a similar system with management of keys. There you can remove the key from old computer and simply apply it to your new computer unlimited times. If I buy a product, I should be able to move it to my newly bought computer without a hassle.

    Oh, and don't get me wrong, I love Prevx and I will continue to use it for a long, long time (even years to come) and I got my license working real fast (their support fixed my problem within an hour on a weekend(!). But still, I think it's retarded.
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    As said in another thread, the licensing system is as it is because of people trying to abuse it constantly. Many PC repair people will buy a single Prevx license and then try to use it to clean up dozens of PCs, charging their customer for the service but obviously illegally using Prevx to do so.

    Therefore, we lock down the license on a rather strict basis. Prevx 4 will likely include a new licensing system which will tie the license to the physical PC, but there is no perfect solution as hardware changes will then potentially break the license.

    We do try to be as proactive and fast responding as possible, and MyPrevx allows for a handful of license changes, but we unfortunately do have to be strict with our licensing because of how much value we provide out of our pockets for our guaranteed cleanup.
     
  13. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    I am being aggravated by this license setup as we speak!! Just a bit more frustration and i will just move on like many other people will in the future.
     
  14. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    It is something they will look at, but license abuse is pretty bad these days. You cant blame them for being to tight with your license. Think of the alternative.
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you please contact the Prevx support inbox http://info.prevx.com/service.asp with your License code and they will be happy to reset it for you it is the easiest way! Like I said in another thread I have to contact Prevx support if I need to do any reformatting on my Dual Boot System on my Laptop and my Desktop which I don't use much anymore, I just don't think it's a big deal Prevx Support is very easy to deal with! IMHO

    TH
     
  16. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Yes Prevx Support are very fast to respond and fix license issues. I contacted them on Sunday afternoon, they replied Monday morning, and license was sorted this(Tuesday) morning. Can't get any better than that?
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    very good.:thumb:
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Also like I suggested to the OP get some kind of Back Up Software do a clean install of the OS install the programs you want and install Prevx and activate then do a Back Up and if you have any problems just use the Back up instead of reformatting and installing all of the programs again! I personally use Acronis TI 2010 but there are many others that other members will suggest!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2010
  19. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    Geez-----
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2010
  20. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden

    So that would mean if I format my one and only computer, say 7 times within the license period, I could be kicked out for abusing my license? And if I get a 3 year deal with Prevx and decide to upgrade computer (which I do perhaps once a year), I no longer can use the product I paid expensive money for as it's in the plans to tie it to hardware. If I contact support, you can reset it for me, am I not correct? What prevents those 'thieves' and 'illegal' pc-repairers from doing the same thing? You could just as well reset it on your own under "My Prevx".

    I do understand that people try to abuse the system every day. But the anti-abuse system affects us normal users in a way that we, in worst case scenario, might stand without online protection for days.
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You want a good laugh this is what I have done since I started using Prevx 3.0 for 4 machines 3 years left License.

    Total Machines Added:22 Successfully Deleted:38 Successfully Reinstated:22

    Now I use Acronis True Image and do a clean Back Up Of my whole hard drive and I don't need to contact support anymore only if I reformat and want to change the Back Up that I have like I said it's no big deal just plan ahead and if you are going to reformat Contact Support uninstall Prevx they will reset your license or if Joe is online I PM him and he resets right away and when you do you reinstall it should be ready to activate!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2010
  22. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    You say that. But it shouldn't affect an innocent home user. I paid for a product, I use it on the same computer, just with a new installation of Windows. I shouldn't need to contact support for that. That's my opinion, and nothing can change it.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Believe me I understand but PrevxHelp made it clear:

    And also understand that you or I are not abusing our License I did like to reformat allot and now I use Back Up software because it's less work then installing 70 plus programs and if I want to do any testing of software I use VMware and If I mess up an OS I just delete it from VM as I always keep a clean copy of all 3 VM's that I use and Clone them! It's just my Opinion and nothing else!

    TH
     
  24. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    The idiots there have screwed my account up i cannot even log into the account now!!!!!!!!!! It says my e-mail does not exist for the Prevx code. This is so much HOGWASH!!! All i wanted to do is reactivate the code on my computer!! I had deactivated it from the other computer months ago.Whats up with this comapany?

    I don't have the patience and time to deal with this crap.
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Sorry you are having problems,

    Please PM PrevxHelp https://www.wilderssecurity.com/member.php?u=87864 with your License key and email address that you used to purchase Prevx with and he will make sure it is fixed ASAP!

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.