Lenovo ThinkPad Notebooks.....

Discussion in 'hardware' started by SweX, Aug 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SweX

SweX Registered Member

Hello Wilders :)

I am looking at one particular notebook from Lenovo, it's a Lenovo ThinkPad Edge 15. But I have no knowledge about Lenovo and their products, so perhaps some of you could share your experience with Lenovo?

Also, as we all know some vendors come with more pre-installed software than others like Antiviruses, MS Office trials etc etc..... so I wonder how Lenovo is doing in this area? (I ask because I personally have nothing against using the "recovery software" that might come with it unless it includes all sorts of unwanted stuff...)

I skip posting about the price tag because of the different currency and that it would look some what more expensive in U.S. $$$ :D

It's a low-end notebook so the specs isn't really mind blowing but incase some one wants to see, this is the one: http://www.inet.se/produkt/1970214/lenovo-edge-15
    (It's in Swedish but I think you can read the specs anyway ;))

Cheers, SweX

2. zapjb

zapjb Registered Member

I think quality, specs & price should be at least 95% of the factors influencing a computer buy. Software, bloatware, trialware shouldn't matter. Just install or uninstall whatever.

As far as Lenovo Thinkpads quality, can't say. The IBM Thinkpads are rock solid. Bought, used/owned & sold over a dozen IBM Thinkpads.

3. SweX

SweX Registered Member

Yes I agree, but it's still good know how much pre-installed stuff they push in.
    BUT as for the pre-installed stuff I think it might actually be a minor issue since this is classified as a "business class" notebook wich tend to come with less pre-installed software than the consumer ones.

But IBM doesn't make and sell NEW ThinkPads anymore right? And Lenovo bought the ThinkPad brand from IBM afaik.