Legal use of Acronis 2009

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by menola, Feb 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. menola

    menola Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    We are currently running a licensed copy of Acronis 2009 in Bart PE. Typically we wil start with an image of the data before any work begins so as to have an undo action available.
    Q1- is this legal?
    We are considering offering a one-click restore disk created after repairs so clients can return to the fixed state if desired.
    Q2- is this legal?

    Just trying to avoid any trouble :)
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    For the Home versions of TI, to be legal, you need to have a license for TI for each computer on which it will be used. If you're going to use it on a client's computer, you need to have a license for that computer. This would mean that you purchase a copy of TI for each computer.
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    What you are doing is contrary to the Acronis user license which states the product is to be used on only one computer - and not just one computer at a time.

    You might want to consider a free program which you could legitimately give each client for their non-commercial use: http://www.paragon-software.com/home/db-express/
     
  4. menola

    menola Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Shucks, I was only worried about Q2.

    Thanks, I'll look into Paragon.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello menola,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    According to Acronis software licensing policy you should purchase one copy of Acronis program per each machine it will be used with. Thanks MudCrab and jmk94903 you have provided full answers.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  6. Antifreeze

    Antifreeze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    67
    Menola, you might be interested in a free program called Drive Snapshot.
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    At 39 Euros for the cheapest version, Drive Snapshot is hardly free.

    It also offers only a DOS based rescue CD which won't recognize most new hardware in today's computers. Therefore, it may backup a system, but you won't be able to restore it.
     
  8. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I might post this in the wishlist, but perhaps Acronis marketing should consider something along the lines of a technicians licence maybe for Echo workstation perhaps, or like many A/V providers now recognise multi computing in one house a 3 or 5 computer bundle licence.

    Colin
     
  9. Antifreeze

    Antifreeze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    67
    > At 39 Euros for the cheapest version, Drive Snapshot is hardly free.

    Whoops, sorry. I read somewhere that it was free.

    > It also offers only a DOS based rescue CD which won't recognize
    > most new hardware in today's computers

    I read in the same place that it could be used on a BartPE disk to restore its images. That's why I thought it would be a good solution to give to Menola's customers.

    Sorry, I can't find the source - I've read about 1000 pages/reviews/threads about various backup solutions in the last week. Obviously it was outdated or incorrect information, or I was hallucinating.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.