Learning about what to use

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by kane_robson, Jul 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kane_robson

kane_robson Registered Member

New User-trying to test post-what will happen?

I am a new user(as of July 5,2005).I am testing a post.I want to learn about anti-virus,worm.trojan etc.protection that I can obtain for free or free test.I am a rank amatuer to this--only have been using PC for 1 year-never trained-all self-taught by trial and error--a big waste of time.I need help.

2. Blackspear

Blackspear Global Moderator

Re: New User-trying to test post-what will happen?

Welcome to Wilders kane_robson.

I will shift your post in to a more appropriate forum shortly where you should receive a better response.

In the mean time you may want to take a look here. As well there are discussions on security software here and even more here.

Hope this helps...

Let us know how you go.

Cheers :D

3. kane_robson

I have downloaded ie-spy-ad exe.-----I have unzipped it . 13 files were unzipped successfully.What do I do next? I should tell you that I have Windows XP sp2.I use mozilla firefox to browse,but internet explorer is still in computer and sometimes I get pop-ups etc. from it.Am I following the right path? Am i done or is there a next step with ie-spy ad exe.? Thank you for the help.

4. Blackspear

Hi Kane, navigate to where IE SpyAd was extracted to, typically straight into your "C" Drive and within a folder called IE SpyAd, then press number "2" on your keyboard and follow the prompts.

Attached Files:

5. James Taylor

James Taylor Guest

You should probably see a file like ie-ads.reg (or something like that ending with reg). Click on it, windows will ask if you want to import the information into the registry. Press yes.

That's all. The next time you open Internet Explorer, a list of bad sites should be in your restricted zone.

6. kane_robson