Layout keeps resetting

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by nickster_uk, Jul 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    I'm using v5.2.9.1 and the window layout keeps resetting which is a bit annoying.

    I thought this issue was supposed to be fixed?

    Fix: GUI opened in a large window
     
  2. tommy456

    tommy456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    yeah i thought it was marked as fixed, but it isn't it also will not reduce in size as much as the previous builds or versions did come to think of it,
    Plus the GUI process crashes randomly too
     
  3. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Disappointing.

    It seems the window is resetting on every single boot at the moment :(
     
  4. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ESET\ESET Security\CurrentVersion\Client]
    "Placement"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,01,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00
    
    Paste the above into Notepad and Save as type: All files (*.*), File Name: gui_fix.reg
    Double click and allow it to merge with the registry.

    Now your ESET GUI will retain its position and size.

    BTW, this value is never written to the registry by the installer with Win 7 x64 ( not sure about 32 bit). I reported this long ago and the issue was pretty well ignored.
     
  5. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Thanks very much stackz.

    I was just going to ask if anyone knew which key and value was responsible for the setting. I backed up the CU registry key before and after changing the gui size but the values were exactly the same when compared.
     
  6. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Argh...didn't work after a reboot.

    I'm gonna try a clean install of v4.
     
  7. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Working as it should with v4. Think i'm gonna stick with it for a little longer.

    The v5 imap issue is extremely annoying as well.
     
  8. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Just noticed v6 beta is available for testing...

    Shouldn't v5 beta be fixed first?? ;)
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    This is a known GUI re-size issue that ESET are well aware of, please submit an issue ticket.
     
  10. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    I highly doubt the Registry hack posted here is condoned (allowed or known by ESET), users are strongly cautioned.
     
  11. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    As stated this has been reported, it's not a registry hack, it's simply adding to the registry what ESET omitted.

    At any rate, the registry solution I posted will no longer work as ESS on Win 7 x64 is not writing to this value on shutdown - though it still reads this value when you first open the GUI.
     
  12. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Any lines added to Registry code is by definition a Registry hack, however you'd care to embellish what it is.

    Users and Readers are strongly cautioned !!
     
  13. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Hopefully then ESET will perform an unembellished Registry Hack as well as fixing the config validation bug.
     
  14. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  15. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Just an update -
    The Window placement will be successfully written to the registry provided that the GUI window is open when logging off, though not when shutting down / rebooting.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2012
  16. STRYDER

    STRYDER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    Hello,

    I have seen this happen on machines with remnants of an older version still installed. I recommend following the steps in this article:

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2289

    and then installing 5.2.9.1 again. :)
     
  17. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Cheers.

    I used the uninstall tool previous to installing v5.2.9.1 the last time, in order to try and resolve some other bugs.

    I'm happy with v4.2.71.2 for the time being. I like the look and some of the features of v5.x but there's far too many bugs. This layout issue was probably the least worrying, but still somewhat annoying.
     
  18. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow

    You really are a scaremonger, how many reg edits are available for Windows to do things such as add context menus like Move To/Copy to etc?

    Common sense says if it says hackme.reg you do not apply it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.