Launching applicaitons via PSEXEC natively

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by dlimanov, Jul 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dlimanov

dlimanov Registered Member

Gentlemen,

We are testing PSEXEC in our company to enforce running sensitive applications with reduced privileges. It works well, but for every application we have to configure a shortcut for it to be launched via PSEXEC, and rely on users running it that way and not just executing it directly.

I am wondering (and please forgive me if this is dumb, I'm not a developer in any shape or form) if it's at all possible to embed PSEXEC into Windows native "launch" process for specific set of applications? I assume Windows is using something to launch an exe, a kernel or shell of some sort (userinit.exe? shell32.exe? again, excuse me if this sounds ridiculous), so I'm wondering if, let's say, to launch IE, shell32.exe is responsible for executing iexplore.exe and that logic is stored somewhere. If these launch parameters are configurable (Registry? HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT?), then I'd modify the execution path for this particular program from "shell32.exe %program files%\internet explorer\iexplore.exe"
    to
    "shell32.exe psexec.exe -l ...\iexplore.exe", and you get the idea -- every time IE is launched, it is done so via PSEXEC.

Is something like this even remotely possible or should I lay off the pipe?
    Thanks in advance!

2. Sully

Sully Registered Member

modify windows registry and you will have it working as you describe: where a program (notepad.exe) when launched is actually a command line parameter for psexec.exe (simplistic example).

You may also change the default application for opening a certain file type. For example, opening document.txt will check associations, and find that %systemroot%\system32\notepad.exe is the parent program for .txt files, and the file you chose, document.txt will be opened with notepad.