Latest version of Comodo FW?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by bellgamin, Dec 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,860
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I have CFW version 3.0.13.268

    Q1- Is this the latest version as of 11/30/2007 Fri?

    Q2- Is there a link at comodo.com where they always post the number of the latest released version?

    shaloha... bellgamin
     
  2. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
  3. BuzzStone

    BuzzStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Bellgamin, you have the latest version: 3.0.13.268.
     
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,860
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thanks to both of you. I hope they improve Defense+ soon. It's a strong protection HIPS, but VERY poorly structured. Comodo would have been far better off to buy-out a current HIPS, such as SSM or ProSec, & use/maintain it as their own.

    To hazard a guess, I am persuaded that Defense+'s extremely convoluted configurations, & excessive pop-ups, are alienating a lot of folks to turn away from using HIPS altogether.
     
  5. BuzzStone

    BuzzStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I use the V3 Firewall only. I have Defence+ disabled so therefore have never tested it's HIP's function or any other products HIP's function. As far as a F/W goes it works just great, no problems whatsoever. The pop-ups must be related fo the Defence+ only.
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,109
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Very nice description.
     
  7. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,493
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    I agree. I have v3 installed on a laptop, with Defense+ turned off, and it is working great. When I tried to install with Defense+ activated I could not use the machine. Had to reboot in Safe Mode, uninstall, reboot and reinstall MINUS Defense+.:mad:

    I also agree with bellgamin...Defense+ is going to alienate a number of Comodo users or put some potential users off given the bad press it is getting.:doubt:
     
  8. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND

    Defense is a pain, I agree, but have left it on my PC.
     
  9. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,161
    Hi,
    Old saying:
    Some one's rag could be the other's find of the day.

    You like it, use it, if not , no obligation.

    Comodo 3's defense+ fits into this model.

    Take care.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.