Latest version of Comodo FW?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by bellgamin, Dec 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I have CFW version 3.0.13.268

    Q1- Is this the latest version as of 11/30/2007 Fri?

    Q2- Is there a link at comodo.com where they always post the number of the latest released version?

    shaloha... bellgamin
     
  2. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
  3. BuzzStone

    BuzzStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Bellgamin, you have the latest version: 3.0.13.268.
     
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thanks to both of you. I hope they improve Defense+ soon. It's a strong protection HIPS, but VERY poorly structured. Comodo would have been far better off to buy-out a current HIPS, such as SSM or ProSec, & use/maintain it as their own.

    To hazard a guess, I am persuaded that Defense+'s extremely convoluted configurations, & excessive pop-ups, are alienating a lot of folks to turn away from using HIPS altogether.
     
  5. BuzzStone

    BuzzStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I use the V3 Firewall only. I have Defence+ disabled so therefore have never tested it's HIP's function or any other products HIP's function. As far as a F/W goes it works just great, no problems whatsoever. The pop-ups must be related fo the Defence+ only.
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Very nice description.
     
  7. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    I agree. I have v3 installed on a laptop, with Defense+ turned off, and it is working great. When I tried to install with Defense+ activated I could not use the machine. Had to reboot in Safe Mode, uninstall, reboot and reinstall MINUS Defense+.:mad:

    I also agree with bellgamin...Defense+ is going to alienate a number of Comodo users or put some potential users off given the bad press it is getting.:doubt:
     
  8. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND

    Defense is a pain, I agree, but have left it on my PC.
     
  9. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi,
    Old saying:
    Some one's rag could be the other's find of the day.

    You like it, use it, if not , no obligation.

    Comodo 3's defense+ fits into this model.

    Take care.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.