Latest FD

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Acadia, Oct 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    So has anyone installed it yet, if so, how do you like it?

    Acadia
     
  2. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    The new open file technology - VSS by default - takes a bit longer than the previous one when initalising before doing any copy/updating. One can change to the RSS version though, but I'll see how this works out first.
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It has compressed snapshots feature?
    Any difference in speed of making snapshots?

    thanks
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I'm going to wait until I have my computer re-installed from scratch.

    I'm disappointed in the way this upgrade is released. It isn't even mentioned in my personal account.
    I expected a complete new FDISR installation file from Raxco, like PerfectDisk8.
    Now I have two installation files to install FDISR :
    1. FDISRfw.exe
    2. FDISRW_update.msp
     
  5. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    This file is the patch file, which means you don't have to uninstall FD-ISR to update it.

    Raxco have kept their main interface screen picture, but have used the new pre-boot logo - sorry to the guy who won the Leapfrog competition to design a new interface screen as his isn't there. It's there on the Leapfrog version tho.
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    That,s not nice to hear.
     
  7. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, compression is there, but not a huge difference in speed. Obviously, there is some due to smaller sized snapshots, which are about 30% of the original.
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    thanks.
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes, I know it's a patch file, but that doesn't make me happier.
    And this update contains only bug-fixes and the new compression feature and that doesn't make me happier either.

    The fact that the new interface screen of the winner of Leapfrog competition isn't used, doesn't make me happier either. The guy deserves some respect and recognition for his hard and artistic work.

    Everything about this patch file makes me unhappy, except the compression of course, if it works.
    I guess we all have to wait for the real improvements. Leapfrog/Raxco is lucky, that the competition is very poor, but that won't last forever.

    An announcement of a new version with improved features somewhere in the future would be nice, instead of leaving us in the dark. :)
     
  10. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    The new version works fwith both Vista and XP, however, the compression feature does not work with Vista. When you boot to the compressed snapshot in Vista, you get an error screen stating that the boot manager is compressed, do a CTL, ALT, DEL.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Maybe I've become jaded because the number of times FDISR has saved me much grief, but this software just keeps on working, and the little stuff, like, it's a patch, etc just doesn't rise to a big so what level.

    I don't see this update as a big change, but hey we could have Acronis, new version, you have to buy it, new features, that don't work......

    Sorry, but I am perfectly happy.
     
  12. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    So am I.:)
     
  13. L Bainbridge

    L Bainbridge Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    London,U.K.
    Couldn't agree more.
    What I like about FD-ISR is that it does what it needs to do simply, efficiently and reliably.
    Features are being slowly added, I agree, but do we really need incremental backups? (kinda defeats the object of 'separate' snapshots if you ask me).
    Not too devasted about not seeing the official Leapfrog logo either.
    What I want is function not bloat, and slow and careful development will give us that.
    This update is no great shakes- exactly what an update to a well-functioning program should be...
     
  14. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Most users are satisfied with what they have, they only complain when it doesn't work.
    If everybody would think like that, software would never be improved.
     
  15. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,086
    Does the new compression feature work with RSS or do you have to use VSS ?
     
  16. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    It works the same whether you use RSS or VSS.
     
  17. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,086
    OK thanks for confirming Tony.
     
  18. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Pardon my ignorance, but does the compression feature work AUTOMATICALLY....or is it something you have to manually select or configure?
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    When you create a new snapshot, you can select whether it is a compressed or regular snapshot.
     
  20. L Bainbridge

    L Bainbridge Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    London,U.K.
    Depends on how you see improved. I'm of the 'if it ain't broke don't fix it school' as regards FD-ISR mainly because I consider it as essential as my OS for day to day work.
    Of course I want to see new features but only if they are necessary and don't distract from FD-ISR's primary function- immediate system restoring.
    I like its simplicity of approach to this and being fairly lazy in all this don't want to learn how to use new functions if the program already does what I need it to do.
     
  21. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Removed.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2006
  22. L Bainbridge

    L Bainbridge Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    London,U.K.
    I agree with you on scheduling although it's a fairly minor irritation for me.
    I'm not really qualified to comment on frozen snapshots as I barely, if ever, use them.
    As you commented in another thread I suspect these are not yet widely used by most FD-ISR users, so what you require may not be seen by the 'average' user of FD-ISR (if there is one) at the moment as quite so important/ essential. It may, of course, become more important as more of us use frozen snapshots for surfing, especially if FD-ISR wants to stay ahead of the field.
    I'll give you that both of your requirements could have been fairly easily implemented by Leapfrog/Raxco.
    Let's hope they are in the next build and we'll both be happy:D
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Interesting points Erik. I think your Point 1 under schedules may be the answer. It may well be that we home users are an insignificant part of the FDISR market. That could explain things. Also things might be as simple as you think.

    On the multiple freeze concept. Swapping from one snapshot to another with regular snapshots seems as simple as rebooting and from our stand point it is, but as I learned running the tests when I found that bug a few complex things do happen in that process. It also may well be that what occurs with the freeze isn't as simple as you would think. Could be done, sure, but a vendor has to look at cost vs market.

    Given the purpose of freezing, I suspect that the market for those wanting to be able to freeze more than one snapshot is very very veryyy small.

    Pete
     
  24. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Removed
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2006
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Erik, there is a world of reality and economics. Every one of these software vendor's are in business to try and make money. It just isn't worth spending resources to do something when maybe one user might find it useful. Also I suspect that the money is made from corporate users, and if they asked you'd probably see what you want, but if they don't ask you won't.

    Let me pose this question. If Todd said to you, I can do what you ask, but since no one else wants it, would you be willing to pay the $1000 cost of the time to do it.

    If the idea is good, and a lot of users of pay for the bread and butter ask you will see it, otherwise probably not.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.