Late to the party!

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by pettyracing, Jan 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pettyracing

    pettyracing Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Posts:
    37
    In reading the threads, I see that fs-isr is now a different program with revised features, (fd-isr rescue).

    Is FirstDefense similar to Sandboxie, etc. as relates to discarding changes? There are times I would like to try a program, but would rather not deal with a bad install or leftover files if I choose not keep it. Would fd-isr be better to use than a sandboxie program for this?

    I am a longtime user of Acronis TrueImage. I just purchased ver 11 but I am currently using ver 8. The new version has a try&decide feature. Is this similar functionality to fd-isr from the standpoint of restoring a machine after trialing new software? Thanks.
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    FDISR Rescue is the one you need to try new programs and get rid of them completely, if you don't like them.

    Sandboxie is an application based sandbox and not good for testing programs.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    I am not positive, but I think Try and Decide gets rid of the new stuff on reboot, so you couldn't test a program needing a reboot. Sandboxie is fine, unless you need to install a driver or start a service. It blocks those. you can override, but that defeats it's protection. FDISR-Rescue would work fine.

    Pete
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Pettyracing,
    The question is : how do you know in advance that a NEW software, requires a reboot or a driver or a service in order to choose the right software to test the new software ? I never know.
    That's why you need a software, like FDISR Rescue that can handle everything.
    When you choose the wrong software, you can start all over again or install the software without ISR-protection.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2008
  5. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    From memory,Try and Decide created a virtual zone,where new software etc could be tried, then could be kept or discarded.

    Cant remember about the reboot factor

    Quite different to Rescue .

    If you like Rescue,get both.
     
  6. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Try and decide as a good option to test out software. The only drawback is it doesn't carry the session over a reboot so testing software that requires s restart could be a problem. There are ways get around the reboot issue however it doesn't always work.
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    A good software to test the reboot-software feature of an ISR-software is Anti-Executable. AE doesn't even ask for a reboot during installation, it simply reboots. If you install AE in Returnil, while its frozen mode is ON, you got nothing after reboot.
    Of course there is always a stupid user, who says "I don't use AE or any other reboot-software". I can solve any problem, when I close my eyes and don't want to see the problem.
    That's why I never trust evaluations, based on personal usage of a software, you better test it yourself.
     
  8. pettyracing

    pettyracing Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Posts:
    37
    Thank you all very much for your input. I am going to trial FDISR Rescue.

    Will FDISR Rescue coexist with:

    Acronis Trueimage ver 8-11?
    Allow the disk to be defragmented with xp's built-in defragmenter?
    A/V in my case nod32 and/or kaspersky kis 7.0?

    Many years ago I had a product called goback. Purchased by symantec at some point. That program made changes to the mbr and if not properly uninstalled would cause major problems with the hard drive. Does FDISR Rescue interact with the hard drive or other areas where it could become problematic? I do have a need to clone a smaller hd to a larger hd with acronis ti.

    If I understand the board right, FDISR Rescue offers less functionality than the previous "full" version. Are these changes so great as to make the program less useful or effective?

    Thanks again for the insightful responses and all the help.
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Acronis will backup FirstDefense-ISR Rescue very well.
    I used Acronis True Image myself during one year, while I was using FirstDefense-ISR Workstation. It never failed once and I gave Acronis a hard time, but couldn't break it.
    You can zero or wipe your harddisk, ATI will restore it completely.
    I even did a backup of an encrypted harddisk and ATI restored it properly.

    I didn't ditch ATI, because it failed, I just didn't like ATI 10/11 and replaced it with ShadowProtect Desktop.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2008
  10. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    typically somebody's treasure is another persons nightmare,i never got it to work properly on my workstation with mouse not working and it never could recognise my satadrive but that was with version 9,maybe its already solved in current version,after this bad experience i found ShadowProtect and never looked back.
     
  11. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I ditched ATI for 3 reasons :
    1. it was becoming more and more bloatware with unnecessary functions.
    2. it had several issues, that still weren't fixed in newer versions. I would never add new functions to a software, while older issues weren't fixed.
    3. Their Linux Recovery CD was too slow, it's not my task to create another CD. It's the task of Acronis to give me the right CD, like StorageCraft does.
     
  12. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Pettyracing

    As you already own True Image,the first priority is to get another rescue disk in addition to the Linux one.

    The Mustang plug running on a WinPe environment is ideal-on one occasion the Linux disk quoted 2 hours for a restore but couldnt do it-WinPE about 18 minutes-still too slow,but better.

    In this case for example Rescue would have saved me at least 15 minutes .
     
  13. Mr. Y

    Mr. Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    257
    I am still using ATI 9.1- I never upgraded and have never had any problems. I only had problems with ATI 9.0.

    The other night I used the ATI 9.1 bootup CD to backup a LINUX drive onto another drive that holds Acronis images only (including all my Windows images).

    Will I have any problems restoring the LINUX image?
     
  14. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I'm not familiar with Linux or anything that has to do with Linux.
    If you have questions regarding Acronis True Image, I suggest you ask them in the Acronis forums of Wilders. Acronis Support or very knowledgeable and experienced members will certainly answer them. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.